2015 Year of the Sheep

Gong Xi Fa Cai! I just realised that I’ve had this blog since 2009, that’s like going on 7 years!! It’s pretty amazing when you think my 2nd blog post talked about how I wished my siblings were there to join us for dinner ‘if only if only’ and now it’s only Darren that’s missing from the picture! It took a long time but we’re getting there 🙂
2015-02-18-21-28-52_deco

Our reunion dinner, it’s so much more fun and loud now that the kids are here and Jan’s family has joined us in Perth. I remember in the old days Jo and I had to join Calv’s family for reunion dinner and became the token ‘Wong’ family members. It was really nice of them to us join them come to think of it. I should really bake a cake for Mama Wong some day.

2015-02-18-20-24-51_deco

Andy is our ‘fish’ master, I love the fishes that he steams haha. My sharksfin soup was a fail I reckon, next year I’m going to leave it to R. But at least the braised abalone went well! I’m going to do this as a treat in the future.

2015-02-18-21-41-46_deco

R and his abalone lollipop haha.

2015-02-18-20-39-09_deco

Lou hei. I love this dish I’m not sure why. I think it’s the combination of flavours and texture. Hopefully the year of the Sheep will be a great one for our family and friends, lots of good luck, good health and good fortune please (not greedy at all haha!).

We had our traditional Chinese New Year morning tea at work (3 years running now). As per usual, I shared my colleagues’ zodiac fortunes for the year, explained some Chinese New Year customs and introduced my colleagues to some CNY treats. I really enjoy these annual sessions because I’m proud of our Chinese culture and customs and it’s great to be able to share some of this knowledge.

It’s been a week of feasting and lack of exercise though so I’m hoping to be better next week. Hmm… have to start planning for Chap Goh Meh dinner, maybe steamboat? So much for being good …

0 Responses to “2015 Year of the Sheep”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Pages


