Singaporean breakfast @Sprolo

Still fighting post holiday blues… I noticed when one is missing home, then tend to veer towards comfort food or activities that they did during their holidays. For example, I’ve been watching TVB dramas and this weekend, asked Jan and family to join me for brunch at Sprolo (138 Canning Highway, South Perth), which I have been meaning to try because I knew they served Singaporean breakfast of kaya toast and soft boiled eggs.2015-01-11-22-58-20_deco

Ta-dah! The Singaporean breakfast ($12) complete with sous vide eggs. To be honest, the service at Sprolo was underwhelming, they were quite packed and busy and I noticed none of the waitstaff bothered to come up to ask whether we needed a table or offer assistance even though we were obviously standing at the entrance for quite a while looking perplexed. In the end we ended up grabbing our own table and pulling up our extra chairs.

The Singaporean breakfast looked a bit lackluster too, especially the unattractive hue of the kaya (coconut jam). I was expecting the worst but surprisingly, the kaya was pretty standard and tasty. There wasn’t even butter for three pieces of toast, but the eggs were done well and lovely with the normal condiments of soy sauce and pepper.

So that satisfied my curiosity, I won’t be returning to Sprolo any time soon. The service just wasn’t up to par.

2015-01-11-22-59-14_deco

It was too hot for a coffee so I had an iced mocha instead. Notice Kaka in the background playing games on her mobile? This is definitely a generation of ‘dut dian wa’  (pressing phones), it still amazes me how tech savvy kids are nowadays, especially with all the slide finger action. I still remember when I had my first smartphone (it wasn’t even that long ago =^^=) and couldn’t figure out how to pick up a phonecall because I didn’t know the slide action *face palm*. To this day, I am still hopeless with any techy gadgets.
2015-01-11-23-04-49_decoBeing technically impaired was possibly one of the reasons why I’ve put off buying an e reader for so long even though I’ve heard so much about the wonders of an e reader and love reading books. R always jokes that I read way too fast and it’s a waste of money buying books for me because I devour them within a few hours.

But my dear brother bought me a Kindle for my birthday and I’m so delighted with it that I just have to blog about it! At the moment I have the whole Agatha Christie collection on my Kindle (I’ve spent years collecting my Agatha Christie book collection) and am now chuckling my way through Agatha Raisin books (a great recommendation from Jan). It’s such an amazing thought that I will be able to have all my favourite books in one place and have so many books just at my fingertips!

So sua-ku me. I sense that my Kindle and I will be spending many lovely days together in 2015 :).

 

0 Responses to “Singaporean breakfast @Sprolo”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2015
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages


