Singapore Day 1 : Seafood feast @ Toa Payoh

It’s May! How time flies, scarf and boots season all over again. I’ve caught a cold too so it’s a pretty crappy start to the autumn/winter season. Which brings me to my long overdue sunny Singapore posts.

_DSC2220 (Medium)

Our first breakfast in Singapore was Ya Kun kaya and toast, with a side of soft boiled eggs.

_DSC2221 (Medium)

YaKun kaya toast is very crispy but a tad dry. We like Killiney kopitiam’s kaya toast more.

_DSC2222 (Medium)

When R and I were in Hongkong, we didn’t get to try the famous Michelin starred TimHoWan. But lo and behold, TimHoWan is now available in Singapore! And best of all, there is a branch conveniently located in our neighbourhood of Toa Payoh.

_DSC2227 (Medium)

Braised chicken feet which was tasty but nothing extraordinary.

_DSC2229 (Medium)

The signature baked char siew buns of TimHoWan, a cross between a polo bun with the sweet crunchy exterior and the yummy charsiew filling. It was very sweet and tasty, but I’m not sure that I would queue for hours to eat this.

_DSC2230 (Medium)

Nice siew mai which we all enjoyed. I think TimHoWan’s claim to fame is consistently good dimsum at affordable prices. Would definitely go ahead providing there’s no long queues.

TimHoWan
Toa Payoh #02-02

_DSC2236 (Medium)

It was really nice being with my parents and sisters together in Singapore. Our first dinner was in our local neighbourhood zhi char stall @Hao Wei Kitchen. We decided to go all out with a seafood feast :). This was our seafood claypot pot.

_DSC2239 (Medium)

I love eating stir fried bittergourd whenever I’m in Malaysia or Singapore because the local bittergourds are so much better than the ones in Perth.

_DSC2240 (Medium)

I can’t remember the name of these local lobsters but they were deep coated in a salted egg york better and deep fried, really good. I even ate parts of the crunchy shell (-____-)”.

_DSC2241 (Medium)

Jo’s favourite dish of the night, Singapore’s signature chilli crab. Believe it or not, it was my first time eating chilli crab and I was impressed. The spicy sweet chill sauce was great especially when soaked up by fried mantou. We liked these so much Jo and my ah pa had chilli crab again a couple of nights later!

_DSC2242 (Medium)

The sambal squid was fabulous too, we all decided that we were really pleased with our first dinner in Singapore.

April Singapore
Oh wait, there was dessert too! Two packs of different durian species, one was Mao Shan Wang which I believe is the king of durians, the other was another type called creamy butter. Surprisingly, everyone preferred the creamy butter species.

It was a good end to a lovely first day in Singapore.

2 Responses to “Singapore Day 1 : Seafood feast @ Toa Payoh”


  1. 1 Jason May 6, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    I’ve been waiting for an update for so long! I usually check daily to see if there is any new post! The food looks so delicious!!

    Btw: I started watching the new season of Masterchef and I’m very excited with the new contestants.

    P.S- I made pork and chive wanton dumplings for the first time from scratch and they were really yummy!!

    • 2 daitaoha May 13, 2014 at 6:28 pm

      I love pork and chive dumplings. I made pork, chive and cabbage gyozas over the weekend but they were too salty!


Leave a Reply

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages


