Wrapping up memorable 2013

I knew that 2013 would go by fast and boy did it whizz through in the most memorable fashion.

I turned thirty this year. Yep, the scary big 3-0. All the older ladies at work promised me that I would love thirties and so far they seem to be right because I loved the first year.

It was great returning to Kuching for Chinese New Year this year, especially nice because KaKa was there too.

We were registered in March and officially became man and wife. I was so glad that my parents were there to witness the whole event and I will never forget us being late for our own ceremony! That’s R and I down to the bone, two daitaohas living a daitaoha life. March was bliss with our parents being in Perth.

April 2013 Jo and HC celebrated their first birthday as parents. How tiny Tristan was then.

It was farewell to Gerry in May who was returning to China for the longer term which is ironic now that he’s back in Perth again! Hehe, we should learn to never farewell Gerry.

June was all about prepping for the wedding with us visiting Hongkong and Guangzhou where we took wedding photos, I bought my wedding dress and we finally visited Gerry’s hometown of Jiangmen. We grew closer to Gerry and his family in the short two days visit and are raring to go back again. Maybe when Gerry finally gets married * hint hint*

Jaso returned to Perth in July and we managed to catch up a few times.

My hen’s afternoon tea happened in August and the lovely ladies and I had lots of fun and sweet treats at the Sassy Cookie.

September was all about our Malaysian wedding which was a great family and friend affair. I was so surprised at how emotional I felt about leaving the family home the night before the wedding. Oh gosh, I just realised that I never blogged about the wedding itself. For some reason I have this image of R and I laughing and running hand in hand to and fro the hotel room and the banquet hall in between our outfit changes. That probably sums up what I remember of the day itself, relaxed, fun and heartwarming with every minute speeding by.

It was back from Kuching and straight back to work, work and more work for October. Someone at work said ‘daitaoha bakes when she’s stressed’, I’m not sure whether that’s true especially since I still think I’m not a good baker and I hate cleaning up after baking. But I did try a few recipes in October which worked out well.

With work being so hectic in November, I started appreciating my weekends even more and R and I started our Sunday brekkie ritual with The Old Crow being a nice discovery.

2013 in a big way was all about Tristan and getting used to a life with a baby. My cute nephew turned one in December and we celebrated his birthday in a big way. I love being an aunty to both Kaka and Tristan and can’t wait to spoil Kaka when the whole family moves to Perth in 2014!

In between the wedding, the trips to Kuching, Hongkong, family, babies and friends, work was a constant burr in the background and was probably the reason why the days just flew in 2013. R and I definitely moved forward in our careers in 2013 and 2014 will be even bigger and more challenging. At times I doubt myself and wonder how long I can keep up with the pace before I burn out. The fact that I’m aware that I need to get better at work/life balance will hopefully keep me steady in the new year.

Part of my new year resolutions include to step out of my comfort zone at work and find out what I want and where I want to go/or not go in my career. Always remember that there is life outside of work which is more important and that’s R and my family who always keep me grounded, happy, and remind me to value the simple pleasures in life.

Just struck midnight so it’s now 2014. 2013 was amazing so here’s hoping for an awesome 2014. Happy New Year folks.

 

1 Response to “Wrapping up memorable 2013”


  1. 1 sakuratrees January 1, 2014 at 1:15 am

    What a sweet post :)! Tristan had a great 1st year with you too, Yee Yee and he can’t wait to spend more years to come with you! 2013 was a challenging year for me, returning to work and juggling with a baby but I am sure that 2014 will be a great one for us (determined to make it a good one).
    Can’t wait for Jan, Andy and Kaka to move closer to us 🙂


Leave a Reply

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages


