Sanctuary

The first round of the fly-ins for the wedding arrive tomorrow. We will be making countless trips to the airport in the lead up to Saturday so I guess should really be trying to rest as much as possible rather than blogging.

I am not quite sure how brides normally feel, nervous, excited, slight hysteria? I’m not feeling any of those emotions (there is a little stress I admit) and so far have received comments on the overall laid backness that I have been exuding.

Mostly I have been feeling slightly melancholy at the thought of leaving the family home. I know it’s silly to feel this way and like my parents put it, there will always be a place for me at home. But still, I know deep down there will be a difference and it saddens me that what I’ve always perceived as my comfort zone, my sanctuary and the place that holds my childhood memories won’t be  my immediate home in Kuching.

I almost wanted to put up pictures of our beautiful home, from the bushes that are trimmed by my father, the swing in the garden that was our ‘train’ when we were young, our laden bookshelves filled with favourite storybooks from my youth that I  still revisit every time I’m home, to the familiar surroundings of our bedrooms.

But it’s so much more than the comfort in the familiar. It’s things like knowing your parents are just in the next bedroom hatching different methods to cure your sickness before your big day, stealing down to the dark kitchen at night to have a midnight snack with your siblings, standing in the car porch on Chinese New Year’s Eve with your family admiring the fireworks going off at 360 degrees in the neighbourhood. There are newer memories too, of sitting together in peace with my grandparents during the evenings and watching the popular Chinese dating program fei Chen wu rao with my father at night.

I have had the best time growing up in the best home with the most wonderful family and that is something I will always be thankful for.

3 Responses to “Sanctuary”


  1. 1 J September 5, 2013 at 7:11 am

    It’s never easy to leave, but its important to know that you will always have those memories to treasure. I guess it’s all part of the ‘growing up’ process right? Your parents and family will always be there for you and you are simply just moving to the next chapter of your life with another important person- R!


  1. 1 Wrapping up memorable 2013 | daitaoha Trackback on January 1, 2014 at 12:00 am

Leave a Reply

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Pages


