Kuching Day 1 & 2: Tristan’s first Kuching trip, Benson seafood and Kenyalang @night

I’m back in Kuching!! I have been enjoying lazing around and not doing anything, didn’t even contemplate blogging until last night at dinner, my mother said ‘ see the roast pork again I also sian (bored)’ . She meant the picture of the roast pork on my blog which has been there for ages because I haven’t blogged for about a thousand years (T_______T).

_DSC1539

You know that I’m in Kuching when the first picture you see is Kolo Mee! It was my first meal when I landed in Kuching, a bit dry since it was a takeaway but still good ol’ kolo mee nevertheless.

_DSC1540

Breakfast at Siang Siang cafe in Tabuan Jaya. Wasn’t used to early breakfasts so just had a sio bee or two.

_DSC1541

I love kuih stalls in Kuching, so much variety, i never know what to buy and end up buying loads.

_DSC1544

The next day, we picked up Tristan from the airport! Oh yes, forgot to mention, we picked up his parents too haha. The grandparents were delighted to see the baby who has grown so much since they last saw him.

_DSC1546

Seafood dinner at Benson dinner which is even mentioned in Air Asia’s travel mag as a must eat in Kuching haha. Luckily for us it also belongs to HC’s aunt :).

_DSC1547

The must-have bilin, local fern. This was was cooked in a different way from the normal oyster sauce that I’m used to, very spicy.

_DSC1548
Local snails, or le as we call it. Very yummy. We also had stir fried clams which were delicious.

_DSC1549
HC has been hankering for oh jian aka oyster pancake for a long time. i actually prefer Benson’s version to the norm that we have at Top Spot seafood. Thicker texture?

_DSC1553

Can’t have seafood without Jo’s favourite crabs. I reckon she polished off about half of the dish.

_DSC1555
Tristan and Papa Hc.

_DSC1561

Kolo mee for breakfast. Tristan had his first strand of kolo mee and enjoyed it.

_DSC1565

Gung gung feeding Tristan, so sweet haha.

_DSC1566

I enjoy eating at home as much as eating out in Kuching.  Mani chai and steamed fish are always must haves.

_DSC1576

I always visit Kenyalang within the first couple of days of being in Kuching.  I thought I would put up night time pictures of Kenyalang for a change. This old kopitiam is where we used to go for supper after a late night movie.

_DSC1568

This scene reminds me of when we used to go to Kenyalang during the evenings with our parents to borrow video tapes or go for a evening stroll,

_DSC1575

Mua Heng Kueh, a very old store in Kenyalng which sells all sorts of knick knacks. The old aunty there knows our whole family and whenever one of us return she will ask my mother ‘which one is this one? Australia, UK or US?’

_DSC1570

I love these old shops and am always so sad whenever they close down to be replaced by some horrible trendy mobile shop.

_DSC1573

My mum spotted these i phone covers at one of the mobile shops and asked me ‘why are they selling burnt covers how come can sell burnt things?’ Hahahahaha. I love being home.

2 Responses to “Kuching Day 1 & 2: Tristan’s first Kuching trip, Benson seafood and Kenyalang @night”


  1. 1 Jaso August 29, 2013 at 6:53 am

    Thank you! I am a regular reader of your blog and have been getting sick and looking at the noodles too! Please update more regularly, especially when leading up to the wedding!! So excited to see the pictures of Kuching!!


Leave a Reply

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages


