Sunday brekky @ Harvest Espresso

Lately my weekends have been working weekends. So it was nice to slow down on Sunday to indulge in a yummy breakfast.

_DSC2508 (Medium)

Our cafe of choice was the fairly new kid on the block in Victoria Park, Harvest Espresso. It was my second visit to Harvest Espresso,  I love it that this tiny cafe is conveniently located in my neighbourhood, best of all, they serve 5 senses coffees :). The coffee was good but I couldn’t finish it because my nervous stomach can no longer take caffeine (T__________T).

_DSC2509 (Medium)

My breakfast was the banana bread with berry compote and mascarpone and pistachios ($13). The banana bread was lovely with a nice chewy texture. I also liked the added crunch of the pistachios and the tartness of the berry compote. Overall, I enjoyed it even though added together it was probably a bit heavy for me.

_DSC2511 (Medium)

R’s black pudding, fried eggs with spinach and sourdough ($17). The black pudding sausages came out hot, crispy, and tasty, eggs were perfect and bread was pretty good. Overall we felt that the brekky dishes at Harvest were innovative, beautifully  presented but a tad heavy in terms of flavours. The service at Harvest is excellent, earnest. What  a wonderful and fun new addition to the Vic Park cafe strip. I will be returning for the desserts and muffins!

Harvest Espresso
629 Albany Hwy
Victoria Park, WA 6100

_DSC2465 (Medium)

Egg noodles two ways. Si Yaw Wong Chow Mein, simple stir fried egg noodles with soy sauce and chicken strips.

_DSC2493 (Medium)

Char siew egg noodles with minced pork and kailan.

_DSC2517 (Medium)

I finally ticked off some of the recipes from my 2013 30 must-cook recipes. This is the Mad Moroccan Lamb with lots of pumpkin and sweet potato. I didn’t follow the recipe to a tee, but it was nice! I think I will be cooking this again.

_DSC2518 (Medium)

Another must-30 recipe, Jamie Oliver’s chicken tikka masala. I thought it tasted a bit like Malaysian chicken curry haha but Jo said it was different. I didn’t have almonds so I substituted with cashews. It was a nice, mild curry and I thought the lashings of yoghurt gave it a fresh twist.

_DSC2479 (Medium)

Apricot clafoutis ticked off! Only I cheated and used white peaches because they are in season. I’ve never had clafoutis before so I don’t know what it’s supposed to taste like, it definitely wasn’t what I expected, slightly custardy, fragrant with the unique texture of almond meal.

A pretty good cooking week :).

6 Responses to “Sunday brekky @ Harvest Espresso”


  1. 1 sakuratrees March 17, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    Eh how come we didn’t get to eat the apricot clafoutis?

  2. 2 slappedbygunk March 17, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    The clafoutis looks really good.

  3. 3 Mich April 11, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    I have been to harvest espresso twice; its a great place. during my last visit I also tried the banana bread with blueberry compote, pistachio and mascapone. it’s super yummy but very filling 😉 good for two to share. 🙂


  1. 1 My 2013 kitchen resolutions | daitaoha Trackback on March 17, 2013 at 12:32 pm
  2. 2 daitaoha Trackback on April 28, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Leave a Reply

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Pages


