The Good Sunday

We’ve just returned from dinner with Gill and Jaso (he’s back from London!) so I’m all happy :). Even though it’s been 8 months since I last saw Jaso (and this was during Jo’s wedding in Kuching , how time flies) hanging out with him felt exactly the same from when we last left off, I guess that’s how I know that he’s a friend for life.
manise (Medium)

Saturday lunch. I took these pictures for Jan and Andy because they love the food at Manise. From clockwise, there’s Jo’s must-have empek empek, fried tofu with sweet soy sauce, eggplant with peanut sauce and ikan bakar manise (grilled fish with special manise sauce). All very yums actually.

_DSC1999 (Medium)

Sunday lunch bento prep. This is R’s loh bak bento with braised belly pork, tofu puffs, hard boiled egg and braised pig intestines. I’m getting good at cleaning those intestines but they’re still hard work.

_DSC2001 (Medium)

Loh mai kai (steamed glutinous rice with chicken, mushrooms and chinese sausage) for Jo and HC’s snack tomorrow.

_DSC1997 (Medium)

The only reason why I made loh mai kai was because I had leftover glutinous rice from my new kitchen experiment. Can you guess what I’m making?? I’m not too optimistic and might make a second batch next week with a different recipe but fingers crossed it will work! Results in a month…

Btw Jaso if you’re reading this (he claims he reads my blog.. hmmm..) stop complaining that I never invite you over to my house, I promise a home cooked dinner at my place before you go back to London ok? That can be your birthday present haha.

7 Responses to “The Good Sunday”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk October 21, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    Wow all the food looks so good, I don’t even know where to start commenting! Empek empek, I miss you! The lor mai kai looks sooo good! And we miss your tng Di. We also miss you lah haha. Btw we went to buy your skirt today, got the last one in your size, yay!

    Oooh are you making bak chang??

    Love, your bestest, most loyal reader ever. (No, not Jason. Hehe.)

  2. 3 Jaso October 21, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    I think i’m a close second most loyal reader! Read your post right fresh from the press! Yay! can’t wait to eat your cooking again! 🙂

  3. 5 Jaso October 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Any food cooked by you is Masterchef quality anyway- opps did I say Masterchef? 2013?


  1. 1 Foochow Ang Chow Harvest « daitaoha Trackback on November 26, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Leave a Reply

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Pages


