Bangkok Day 10 : Songkran festival & Geylang

This is my final Bangkok post!! Bangkok feels so long ago and already the heels of Bangkok shoes are scuffed and worn. I need new shoes but more importantly, I need more holidays (^___^)Y.
_DSC1189 (2) (Medium)

Our last walk around Pratunam in the morning. I knew I would miss the street vendors selling knick knacks and the most amazing variety of street food.

_DSC1187 (Medium)

Stall selling water guns and other water weapons. It was the start of the Songkran festival and in that regard, I was glad it was our last day in Bangkok. Still, we didn’t manage to avoid the locals and their water festivities during our last hours, I recall being chased by locals brandishing their water guns and of a greater magnitude, buckets laden with water. At one point R had to negotiate his way out of the bucket instead convincing the local to let him off with a water gun. It sounds scarier than it was, actually it was all in good fun, a little troublesome since we were hoping to get to the airport dry, but a half wet outfit wasn’t too bad and the locals did let us off easy with cheeky grins and smiles.

Inside the safety of our hotel lobby, we stood by the windows and laughed at others getting completely drenched by water hoses and giant buckets. Even the hotel staff were soaked from head to toe as they helped us with our luggage, but everyone was very sporting and partook in the water activities with gusto.

_DSC1201 (Medium)

Remember the Songkran festival poster that I featured in my last Bangkok post? We thought it was a poster advertising a concert but we completely missed the mark and it was actually a foam and water party!

_DSC1205 (Medium)

This was held at the Central World arena, the once pristine and clean grounds were covered with foam and bubbles and very wet water gun totting people.

_DSC1204 (2) (Medium)

If only it wasn’t our last day in Bangkok, I reckon I would have bought a giant water gun and jumped into the water festivities too. The festive atmosphere was really something to behold.

_DSC1192 (Medium)

I spotted this sinful snack of fried quail eggs during the early Bangkok days but somehow kept missing out on them. So I was really happy that they were selling this during my last day and bought a whole serving. This is not for the faint hearted but it was very yummy.

_DSC1196 (Medium)

A friend (you know who you are) commented that all my Bangkok posts seem to feature chicken rice, ‘is that all you ate throughout the whole trip?’ I was queried.  *Hangs foodie head in shame* I did eat a lot of chicken rice in Bangkok, and even had chicken rice during my stopover in Singapore, I can’t help it, I love chicken rice!

_DSC1197 (Medium)

I can’t remember what this was, obviously some porky soup dish with rice. We didn’t have anything that was less than yummy Bangkok so I’m pretty sure this was good too.

_DSC1198 (Medium)

Another popular Bangkok snack, the humble waffle. Their waffles have many different fillings in them but this one was just the original waffle, very tasty it was too, chewy with this slight crispy caramelised texture on the outside.

_DSC1211 (Medium)

Time to say goodbye to Bangkok! This sculpture was smack bang in the middle of the transit hall.  I really enjoyed our trip to Bangkok, the food was amazing, the BTS system was impressive and efficent, the shopping was great, there’s so much to love about Bangkok and I would love to return again.

_DSC1217 (Medium)

A few hours later and we were in Singapore, or Geylang to be exact. This red light district of Singapore is also well known as a late night  foodie joint.

_DSC1218 (Medium)

We passed by many coffee shops boasting popular Geylang fare including frog leg congee, stir fried fallopian tubes and 24 hour dimsum. But somehow they didn’t seem appetising and we ended up having wanton noodles for supper instead!

_DSC1219 (Medium)

Our wanton noodle stall was popular and it was a little wait before our noodles arrived but they were worth it, a simple and perfect midnight supper.

_DSC1220 (Medium)

What’s for breakfast? Chicken rice of course!! (= ^ ^ =). I’ve had much better chicken rice in other parts of Singapore (and Bangkok haha) but hey, can’t stop by Singapore without eating chicken rice.

_DSC1222 (Medium)

Changi airport’s Terminal 3 has all these new shops (or maybe it’s been a long time since I’ve been there) including this shop that sold lots of cute Miffys. I wish I could have bought all of them for my baby niece (and maybe keep one for myself hehe).

_DSC1226 (Medium)

Last look at Merlion and we were back to Perth. Sigh, I wonder when I’ll be able to blog about another holiday again….

3 Responses to “Bangkok Day 10 : Songkran festival & Geylang”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk June 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Eh? Why no pic of Richard this entry? Leaving BKK so too sad to post har? Hahaha.

    Wah I love the Miffys! I must go and buy when I am in Sing. Hehe.

    The foam party looks so fun leh.


Leave a Reply

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Pages


