TGIF …

no longer stands for Thank God It’s Friday because we don’t have TGIF nights anymore 😦

While I’m always glad when Friday rolls around, I’m usually too tired on Friday nights to go out and do anything. So for the past two Friday nights I stayed at home watching Masterclass!

Anyway, nowadays TGIF means thank God it’s family day. For some reason our Sundays(and most Saturdays too) have morphed into family nights where Jo and HC either come over to my house or we go over to theirs for a family dinner. It’s always very relaxing and involves good food, random Australian tv (luckily Masterchef is on nowadays, once we had to resort to watching The Voice *shudder*) and lots of laughter.

_DSC1354 (Medium)

During the week Jo had texted me saying that she was craving pumpkin soup. So I told her we would have a 3P theme for our Sunday dinner, 3P as in Pasta, Pizza and Pumpkin Soup. I made the pumpkin soup and lasagne but Jo and HC brought over the pizza. Of course we knew there would be tons leftover, but hooray for yummy lunch bentos for the next few days.

_DSC1347 (Medium)

Perhaps I should have called it 4P since there was a lot of parsley involved. My parsley patch is flourishing and we’re having to add parsley to all my dishes. I have to admit, parsley chai po(pickled radish) omelette is actually very yummy. This batch of curried pumpkin soup was too light for my liking, my fault coz I didn’t prepare enough cream.

_DSC1348 (Medium)

I think the last time I made lasagne was almost two years back!   I should definitely do it more often, it’s fun and cheesy and Jo loves the meat sauce. Anything for the pregnant lady.

So it’s back to the daily grind tomorrow, I’m wondering what our theme should be for the next TGIF? Oh yes, Jo said it’s kueh chap and poh piah, so Jan, we’re practising for the holiday trip already, hopefully I will have the recipes down to pat by the time we get to London.

You know, Jo got her Australian permanent residency application approved this week. It was a huge sense of relief not just for Jo and HC but for my parents as well. My ah pa told me that he felt as if a stone had been lifted from his heart :). From a completely selfish point of view, I’m so glad that Jo and HC are here to stay. I can’t imagine what life in Perth would be like without both of them being around. Hooray for more family nights to come.

5 Responses to “TGIF …”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk May 20, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    Haha at your weekends with Jo and HC filled with lots of laughter, I can just imagine the four of you going “Uhuhuhuhuhu~~!” over wine, so pretentious haha!

    Oh good that you’re practising for London, can’t wait! Ah Ma and Ah Pa will here by this time tomorrow lor! So exciting!

  2. 2 sakuratrees May 20, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    I am still awake ah…next week I confirm with you what I want to eat ah. I am feeling quite like bak chang with yam and lean meat and chestnuts at the moment lah but you know lah, it might change by the end of the week. Don’t think will be working again today…tam poking at home again and watching the last episode of tat police show. Bliss ah…

  3. 3 slappedbygunk May 20, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Aiyoh I also want bak Chang with yam. You know how to make? Make when you come!


Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages


