Kuching Day 2 Bee Wee Hiong bak kut teh + Hui Sen dinner

I promised my sister Jan that I would blog frequently about my Kuching trip (especially about the food) so here goes Day 2 in Kuching.

kopi
My father actually wanted us to bring us for good kolo mee at Green Road, but we forgot that it was the weekend (I love holidays when everyday is a weekend) and the cafe was full. So we headed for our usual spot Bee Wee Hiong for bak kut teh instead. Good ol’ kopi to start the day.Jo had teh-c-peng and my father had his usual Kou Kou Gan.

pork leg rice
This kopitiam also sells good pork leg rice which we always have with a side of pig intestines, not for everyone but a favourite for Daitaoha’s family.

bak kut teh

Jason’s favourite bak kut teh. The owner told us that he will be open by the 6th day of CNY, just in time for Jaso’s arrival.Finally Gerry will get a taste of the real thing too! He’s been lying to strangers for years that he comes from Klang in Malaysia, with his house right next to the famous Ming Sen bak kut teh shop.

yew char kueh
I’m not sure whether it’s normal for other parts of Malaysia, but we always have yew char kueh (fried donut sticks) to dip in our bak kut teh.

ah chong

It was a busy day with visits to the shining star of Kuching the Spring as well as my favourite Kenyalang. By the time we went to Hu Sen for dinner, the open air food court was very very busy. Can you spot my ah pa in the crowd?

f&n

The food court was hot, smoky and humid. To beat the heat I had my favourite soft drink which can’t be found in Perth, Fanta Green. I don’t know why I like it so much, maybe the lurid green colour?

jagung peng

Jo had her favourite Jaguang Peng which means sweetcorn ice. She said looking at this photo made her feel like having another one.

matterhornThis is a Kuching special, the Matterhorn which doesn’t have the usual coconut milk in ices, but is tangy and very refreshing with pineapple, longan and lemon slices.

kolo

My usual order at Hui Sen which is kolo mee pang ang, straight kolo noodles with char siew sauce. Very good and one of my favourites, I finished my entire bowl.

Ok, end of Day 2. Day 3 has been full on so far, I’m really tired now, bye bye!

2 Responses to “Kuching Day 2 Bee Wee Hiong bak kut teh + Hui Sen dinner”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk January 16, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    Yah I see Ah Pa! But only after I managed to tear my eyes away from that stud in the foreground hahahahaha.

  2. 2 daitaoha January 17, 2012 at 7:16 am

    hahaha so funny. I didn’t notice the stud though.


Leave a Reply

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Pages


