Kuching Day 3: Kueh Chap @ JinMing Cafe and road side burgers

I can’t believe it’s almost the end of Day 3 in Kuching. Time flies when you’re spending time with family 🙂

kolo mee

We had an early breakfast at Jin Ming cafe. My ah pa had the ultimate breakfast for champions in Kuching, the one and only kolo mee.

kueh chap

But we were really there for the kueh chap. Jo never ceases to amaze me with her wonderful rapport with the stall owners! The kueh chap aunty recognized Jo as her old favourite customer, was chatting to her like mad and telling her about her chinese new year opening hours.

chicken

I think we’ve really been overeating quite a bit, I’m not sure I can handle the 4 or 5 meals a day menu. But somehow it feels as if you should eat all you can while you’re in kuching to make up for the whole year of cravings to come. For lunch, we went for Jo’s rehearsal lunch/test lunch for the wedding . It was a full 9 course chinese dinner, we ended up bringing home most of the food coz we just couldn’t work through it. Here’s some samples for those who are attending the wedding, above is the pipa sesame chicken.

honey longan

Dessert was this refreshing honey sea coconut longan dessert drink, very nice.

roadside

We gave up on going out and stayed home for a simple homecooked dinner. But even that was something special with my mum’s pan fried sambal fish, so good. But that wasn’t all! My brother brought us out for road side burgers for supper. What are road side burgers? Literally burgers sold by the roadside.
burger

Looks wise they’re might be unassuming, but taste wise, these burgers are peppery, saucey, finger lickin good.Another good Kuching eats day.

Today we also went to visit my grandparents. It’s been a year since I last saw my gung gung and mahmah, sadly their health is deteriorating especially for my gung gung. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but his gaunt frame and sunken cheeks hit me really hard and I felt really upset when he couldn’t keep up a conversation with me. It was like we were both trying desperately to understand each other to no avail.I couldn’t do much but feed him an orange. I’m not sure he knew who I was.

Mah Mah was better, she remembered Jo and I. But she had memory lapses and we had to remind her a few times that Jan wasn’t coming home because she was having a baby. That’s when she would break out in happy smiles. She got up slowly and painfully from her chair, shuffled into her room and shut the door tightly. She doesn’t trust people to go into her room anymore. Then she came out, and pressed a red packet into Jo’s hands. It was a gold bracelet that she had been saving for Jo’s wedding. She forgets a lot of things but deep down inside, I don’t think she will ever forget us.

Mah Mah always sends us off from her house and my image of her is her, standing by the front porch of her house, waving madly and saying ‘bye bye! bye bye!’ while we wave from the open windows of our cars shouting ‘bye bye mah mah!’ Today we tried to tell her no to go out to the front porch because she walks so slowly and it’s obviously difficult for her nowadays. But she still insisted on walking out to the front porch. And she still waved to us, shouting ‘bye bye! bye bye!’

It made me feel really really sad.

3 Responses to “Kuching Day 3: Kueh Chap @ JinMing Cafe and road side burgers”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk January 16, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    Mmm kueh chap……….. Maybe Jo can get the recipe off the lady.

    Yah gg and mm were pretty much like what you described when I was back in Aug last year.

  2. 2 daitaoha January 17, 2012 at 7:19 am

    oh ah ma says aunty jenny’s family is the pioneer of kueh chap in Kuching so we’re going to ask her for the recipe.


Leave a Reply

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Pages


