The Tuck Shop Cafe

I’ve noticed that little cafes and coffee joints have been popping up all over Northbridge! I reckon that’s a really good scenario, finally I don’t have to troop to CNR or Frisk Expresso for decent coffee in Northbridge.

tuckshop1

This new kid on the block The Tuck Shop caught my eye while making my regular haunt to Wei Zhong Wei (my current favourite Szechuan restaurant and a future blog post). I have to admit, it was pretty late at night and for a second I thought it was the #$@ Shop (-_____-)”. But a second glance at the shiny glass interior and clean cut setting, I knew it was a new cafe on the corner of Money Street (what a nice street to be on) and Newcastle Street.

tuckshop

The cafe itself isn’t very big, but it’s brightly lit, comfortable and cosy.

coffee

I’d never heard of Toby Estate’s coffee but am always willing to give new coffee beans a try. My latte wasn’t fantastic, but I think it’s more to do with the barista skills than the coffee beans. I would willingly give Toby’s Estate another go at another cafe.

pie

But it was the pies that I really wanted to try. All Tuck Shop reviews have been raving about the pies, so we had a Beef and Stilton pie to share ($12) with a side of mushy peas. In honesty, it was just alright and there was nothing spectacular about it. Maybe I’m just not a pie person? I felt that everything was a bit under seasoned and there was nothing wow about the pastry.

pork belly

This pork belly and apple coleslaw ($16.50) sounded fantastic on the menu, and it came out looking good too. The pork belly was tender and the skin crisp, but similar to the pie, there wasn’t much flavour to it and I thought it was under seasoned as well. The slaw was refreshing but it was just a normal salad.

Overall, Tuck Shop Cafe was average, nothing was done badly and the service was pretty good, but there was also nothing outstanding about the coffee or breakfast. Still, it’s a good addition to the Northbridge area and is a cosy, bright place to catch up with friends over coffee.
Tuck Shop Cafe
1/180 Newcastle Street
Northbridge

2 Responses to “The Tuck Shop Cafe”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk November 22, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    Hahaha at The *uck Shop!!! Hilarious!

  2. 2 Wendy November 25, 2011 at 4:30 am

    The price is alright. Seems the food is tasty. 🙂


Leave a Reply

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Pages


