You win some, you lose some

This year’s food fair felt less stressful and a lot more fun. Perhaps we were more prepared than last year. But somehow, business wasn’t as good this year (T_____T).

Still, I enjoyed the whole experience, it was tiring and Jo kept repeating the whole night ‘see whether you dare to do this again next year!’ I didn’t dare to tell her that I would probably do it again next year, and the year after that … It’s really exhausting and challenging, but at the end of the day, I always learn something new about food preparation,  cooking for the masses, food storage, food presentation, what sells and what doesn’t. It’s a little glimpse into the food business which is something I really want to venture into perhaps in my later years.

Then again, I know I wouldn’t have survived and it wouldn’t be all that much fun if I didn’t have the help and support of family and friends. Jo and HC have been fantastic as always and they really do make this whole crazy couple of weeks go by so much easier. Jo was really knackered and probably wanted to kill me at the end of the day, but I will remember us in hysterics at the ugly kuih packaging and making excuses for terrible food presentation.

Will probably have to leave the thank yous and the recap when Thursday is over. But so far, it’s been bittersweet good. Although Curtin’s affair is always bigger and somewhat better, I always feel somewhat nostalgic and sentimental about UWA’s Spring Feast having been involved in the event since my old uni days.  Fingers crossed that this Thursday turns out to be best food fair night ever.

If you’re in Perth and you have some time on a Thursday night, come by to UWA to say hi, and perhaps have a laksa or two 😉

3 Responses to “You win some, you lose some”


  1. 1 Ah Ma October 2, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    Did you manage to sell all your food? Made any profit?

  2. 2 slappedbygunk October 3, 2011 at 9:43 am

    It sounds very fun! Next time I also want to go and help hehe.

  3. 3 Cheng-er October 3, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Any pics to share with some of your readers who can’t be there?


Leave a Reply

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages


