The Pressure Cooker Weekend II

I haven’t been blogging for a long time, I should get round to my next Bali blog soon. But nowadays it takes a real effort to switch on the computer after coming home from work.

This weekend we tried out a new breakfast place being Cantina 663 which I’ve heard lots about. I’ve had dessert and coffee there before but was looking forward to sampling their breakfast menu.

mocha

Their coffee was a bit too strong for my liking.

mandarin

We shared a mandarin muffin like thing which was lovely and had a fresh delectable mandarin taste to it.

mama's br

Calv’s Mama’s breakfast which I guess is Cantina’s version of a big breakfast, it really was very substantial and looked very nice.

semonila

Jo’s semolina cake with poached egg , herbs and mushroom. I wasn’t particularly impressed by Cantina’s breakfast fare  but appreciated the bustling atmosphere and great service.

HC is back in Malaysia for a few weeks, so I did some extra cooking for Jo this weekend.

charsiew

The pressure cooker is fabulous for bulk cooking, I tried this char siew spareribs recipe that my mum recommended and it turned out really easy and pretty close to the real thing.  Reminded me of the Pai Gu Wang we had as kids in Kuching.

taogeh

Jo’s request for hometown food, our favourite taogeh mee (beansprouts noodles).

spag

Jo’s favourite teriyaki hambagu with tomato based spaghetti.

teriyaki beef

Teriyaki beef lunch bento with sweet corn kernels and rice.

zhuhou

Pressure cooker cooked zhuhou sauce beef brisket and radish. I will never spend hours braising beef brisket anymore, this was done in 30 minutes and fork tender.

Ok, hopefully I’ll blog more this week, I hope the weekday flies by because it’s Calv’s birthday this weekend, time for a real celebration!

4 Responses to “The Pressure Cooker Weekend II”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk July 3, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Wah I can’t wait to move to Perth so you can cook for me too hehe.

    Jo’s breakfast looks interesting.

  2. 3 mum July 3, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Ya, only move to Perth if Di is there.


Leave a Reply

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Pages


