Ugly cakes are delish

I didn’t know what to do with our big bag of plums and nectarines that were getting soft so I googled for a plum cake recipe and came up with this Plum and Vanilla tea cake.

cake

The cake turned out really ugly, sunk in the middle with oozing plum and nectarine juice . I couldn’t take a good photo. I thought ‘oh oh… disaster’, then I had a sample bite, and another. The cake was moist and creamy, the topping of the cake was like a  polo bao, sweet, crispy and crumbly. Ugly cakes can be yummy too! I think I might like baking after all.

yellow rice

Lunch bento tomorrow is Thai green curry chicken with turmeric rice! Don’t know what to do with your leftover coconut milk? Add it to your rice cooker (^___^)Y.

Ok, I’m going to get fat and have another slice of cake. Hehe.

3 Responses to “Ugly cakes are delish”


  1. 1 wendy March 15, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    I cooked curry beef. I threw my leftover coconut milk way. Should use it in the rice like you did.

  2. 2 slappedbygunk March 15, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Ugh but I don’t like coconut rice. I think I’ll stick to laksa.

  3. 3 Conor @ HoldtheBeef March 17, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Sometimes the ugliest cakes are the tastiest. I had an ugly cake win the other day. Hoorah for ug!


Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages


