Orange and blueberry friands

On Monday I cooked the most unauthentic spaghetti and meatballs in the world.

spaghetti

Doesn’t look remotely like Italian pasta right? Actually I was cooking a Japanese style pasta, as in my meatball was really teriyaki braised mini hambagus and my tomato based pasta sauce was mixed with beef stock and and my teriyaki sauce. It was surprisingly pretty good, very light and tasty. I will cook this again.

miso

My lunch bento tomorrow is another Japanese-y dish, miso and mirin marinated pan fried basa fillets with kailan and steamed rice. Healthy or not?

When I told my mother that I was baking friands, she originally thought that I had spelled ‘friends’ incorrectly. Then she realised that I was talking about friands, a popular Australian pastry which is based on the French financier. These little cakes are very cutely shaped, made with almond meal, butter, icing sugar, egg whites and flour.

friand

I only decided to bake them because I sampled a delectable friand over the weekend and discovered that they’re really easy to make and can be baked without using any machines! Yeah, no cleaning! I didn’t have a friand mould so made do with my muffin tray, the friands still came out looking very cute. I mixed orange zest, orange juice and blueberries in my friand mixture, the mini cakes were moist, buttery and yums. Haha, so happy that I found an easy baking recipe.

Nowadays I love being in the kitchen because it means I’m away from work (-___-). Two more days to the weekend …

4 Responses to “Orange and blueberry friands”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk March 9, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    I also thought you spelt “friends” wrong haha. They sound great, especially the easy to make part. Can give me recipe? Maybe I’ll make for my office’s charity bake sale next Thurs.

  2. 2 Di March 10, 2011 at 11:08 am

    let me know whether ur friends like ur friands, hahaha, so lame

  3. 3 Conor @ Hold the Beef March 12, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Non-authentic or not, unhealthy or not, wrong shape or not, all of this looks quite delectable!


Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages


