Labour Day long weekend

The only thing better than weekends are long weekends! It’s a bit ironic that it was the  Labour Day long weekend because work was getting me really depressed and I really needed the break.
french toast
Mine started off with brunch at Cranked again, the service was still great and the coffee good as usual. This was the french toast with bacon and maple syrup. Tasty combination.

pancakes

HC’s short stack of pancakes with mascarpone and strawberries looked yummy.

bak kut teh

Then there was my own adventures in the kitchen, nothing new or interesting but the foolproof delicious bak kut teh which becomes more flavorful and intense overnight. So good and comforting with a bowl of steamed rice.

curry laksa

I must be craving Malaysian food because I also had curry laksa over the weekend. I can’t believe I haven’t blogged about Rasa Nyonya before. I think maybe I have a secret urge to keep it away from the Perth crowd, because it’s  such a nice little place for good, affordable Malaysian fare. I really like their version of curry laksa which is $8.50 a bowl and just not too heavy for a nice curry coconut milky session.

penang char kway teow

It’s fantastic that Rasa Nyonya is so close to home, the place is getting popular I can tell, I hope this doesn’t mean a dip in the consistency of the food and service which so far has always been really good. Their version of Penang Char Kway Teow is my favourite in Perth, the first bite and you can taste the ‘wok hei’ (err how do I describe this?the smokiness and heat from the wok?) which is an essential element of every good place of char kueh teow. Rasa Nyonya does that so well, add in the right balance of seasoning, crunchy beansprouts, fried egg, bounciness of prawns, it’s lovely.

Ok, time to indulge in some final long weekend moments of TVB drama watching, bye!

Rasa Nyonya
Shop 6&7 1019 Albany Highway East Victoria Park
Perth, 6102

2 Responses to “Labour Day long weekend”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk March 8, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Wow those breakfast foods look so delicious! I read this post on the train and it made me soooooo hungry.

    • 2 daitaoha March 9, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      cannot read blogposts on food when you’re hungry. i’m always hungry on my way home from work so i can’t stop by the supermarket because it makes me want to buy everything.


Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages


