I ♥ Kuching food

There’s a lot I miss about Kuching since I’ve been back. Our house. Kenyalang. The Spring :). But most of all, I really miss Kuching food.

This morning we had breakfast at the Imp, I had coffee and a muffin. If I had a choice, I would rather have

soft eggs

this, for breakfast. Soft boiled eggs and kaya toast with kopi for breakfast. So nice… We had this at the Singapore Changi airport, it was lovely.

roti canai

And then there is Jan’s favourite form of breakfast, or lunch or dinner in Kuching. Roti canai with curry. This is my sister’s newly discovered must-eat in Kuching, we had it twice while we were back. Can’t describe the oily, slighty crispy, chewiness of the roti canai which when dipped in the yummy curry sauce is just so delicious you just keep returning for seconds.

teh tarik

Washed down with a nicely pulled frothy, sweet mug of teh tarik, this is one of the best breakfasts available in Kuching.

soft cone

The Spring is well known for it’s tall soft cones, my favourite sort of ice cream.  I remember Jan muttering ‘hurry up, so embarrassing’ when I took this photo, hehe.

kampua

Our last breakfast in Kuching prior to going to the airport was traditional Foochow Kampua mee. Jo loves this but it’s still a bit too oily for me. Also a favourite of Richard’s.

kolo

Can’t end a blog on Kuching food without a shot of the famous Kolo Mee! I’m going to try making kolo mee at home in future, wish me luck! Never know, there might be some Kuching food in Perth in the near future :).

5 Responses to “I ♥ Kuching food”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk February 12, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Aiyoh I’m STARVING!!! That kaya toast and soft boiled eggs looks SO good. And teh tarik! Roti canai! I think I need to wake Andy up so we can go buy something to eat.

    • 2 daitaoha February 12, 2011 at 9:10 am

      sigh, even I feel hungry looking at the photos. I love soft boiled eggs and kaya toast. I guess can make at home, but it’s always nicer when someone else prepares the food.

      • 3 slappedbygunk February 12, 2011 at 9:12 am

        Unless it’s some Ah Pek with crusty nails and you SAW him dipping his fingers into your ice kachang.

  2. 4 rita February 13, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    those look sooo good! i understand why you miss kuching. aside from family – all those goodies are so enticing! at least there in australia, there are good selections of asian restaurants. whereas here in germany, the good ones are few and far between. the rest is just mediocre. siiigh.


Leave a Reply

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Pages


