Cookie Monster loves Danish butter cookies

I don’t know about you, but I’ve never been one for biscuits or cookies, finding them too dry and boring. But during the weekend, I spotted these tins of Danish butter cookies in the supermarket and just had to buy them because they reminded me so much of my Ah Pa and my childhood.

tin

My father loves biscuits, cookies (and most sweet treats) but he really likes Danish butter cookies and when I was young, his room would somehow always have a tin of Kjeldsens butter cookies (the most famous Danish butter cookies?) with their bright blue and yellow hue. We all had our favourites, I think Jo’s favourite was the choc chip cookies while I had a penchant for those sugary ones.

cookies

What was your favourite Danish butter cookie? I remember that the rectangular plain butter cookies were always the ones leftover in the tin because no one liked them, but my Ah Pa would finish them anyway. I’m sure every typical Asian family has a story about these cookies, my favourite one is when I found myself having to lug 10 kilos worth of jumbo Kjeldsens tins from Perth to Kuching (my aunt wanted me to bring them home for my relatives). (-_____-)”

cookie 1

Anyway, I was actually quite excited when I peeled off the tape surrounding the lid. Even though they were not Kjeldsens, I think they’re actually made by the same company.

cookie2

To my shock, I realised there were no choc chip cookies in this version!! How can?! But I was still very happy seeing the familiar rounds of cookies, and knowing that there would be another layer underneath. Nostalgic. I went for a sugary one straight away while the cookie monster chose the swirly round one.
cookie 3
Happy cookie monster Y(^____^)Y. I know it will be a terrible work week ahead, but at least there’s comfort in knowing that familiar, sugary, warm and happy things will be waiting for you back home.

13 Responses to “Cookie Monster loves Danish butter cookies”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk November 28, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    They weren’t choc chip, they were ones with raisins that were like little pebbles.

  2. 3 Cheng November 28, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    oooh, butter cookies are sinfully good. Darn you, Di, now I might just head out to the store to get some…:D Haven’t had these in awhile.

  3. 5 Irene November 29, 2010 at 12:07 am

    Jan’s right.They are not choc chip, they’re raisin cookies. Nowadays, even Kjeldsens don’t have those raisin cookies in their packing sometimes.

  4. 7 Irene November 29, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Hey,I just have this thought.Maybe the weekend party at your aunty’s house reminded you of the butter cookies, that’s why you bought a tin.

  5. 9 Conor @ HoldtheBeef November 29, 2010 at 10:40 am

    These make me think of Christmas, as someone in the family invariably is given a tin of them from someone else, and then shares them with the rest of us (I don’t think they’d be so quick to share at any other time of year when they’re not surrounded by so much food).

    • 10 Di November 29, 2010 at 12:53 pm

      i guess that’s why they’re stocked up in supermarket shelves everywhere, i’ve been munching on them lately, and for a non cookie lover, they’re actually quite yummy!

  6. 11 jo November 30, 2010 at 11:33 am

    My favourite were the raisin ones! i liked the raisin ones, not choc chip cookies. The choc chip cookies came in a brown tin. Sigh…good old Ah pa and his tin buttery cookies…mmm…reminds me of CNY when he stocks tins and tins of it.

  7. 12 Lisa Soong January 5, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    Hi Di

    Where did you get the Kjeldsens in Perth from? I can’t find any of them here!

    • 13 daitaoha January 11, 2014 at 10:20 pm

      Sorry for the late reply. They do sell them at Coles/Woolies sometimes but mostly during Christmas time. I’m told that some oriental stores sell them too.


Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


