Chiak Chiak Chiak

For those that don’t know, chiak means eat in Hokkien, and that’s all I did the whole weekend, it was a great weekend (^____^), only now it’s over (T_____T)

steak

Friday steak nights are back! Mine was overloaded with mushrooms, I tried a new mushroom sauce recipe, yum yum.

pho

Saturday we tried out the new Vietnamese restaurant ‘What the Pho’ (catchy name) that has been garnering good reviews. Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment. The pho was lacking in depth, no beefy flavours, lack of those herbs that we love so much in phos. Sigh, disappointment.

rice

The pork chop rice which I thought all Vietnamese restaurants never go wrong with, was very ordinary. I’ve had much better pork chop rice elsewhere. To be fair, the atmosphere and interior of What the Pho was very nice and comfy. The service was excellent too. But the most important component, the food, was somehow lacking.

tofu

Homecooking! Finished up the whole pack of tofu with mapo tofu.

curry

Chicken curry or more like vegetable curry because I loaded it with veggies like cabbage, carrots and beancurd sticks. A tad spicy but still good with rice.

I’m going to bake a cheesecake tomorrow, wish me luck!

8 Responses to “Chiak Chiak Chiak”


  1. 1 Irene November 15, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Jin Tam Chiak.

  2. 2 Conor @ HoldtheBeef November 15, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    I guess the moral of the story is… cook your own food? Bugger 😦

    Also, you’ve reminded me I need to pull my finger out about Laneways tickets!

  3. 4 slappedbygunk November 15, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    I had curry for dinner, Japanese curry.

  4. 6 slappedbygunk November 15, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    Btw, when I read “chiak chiak chiak” I thought it was the sound lizards make. Haha.

  5. 7 Irene November 16, 2010 at 10:39 am

    chiak chiak chiak, jin tam chiak.


Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


