Hillarys and good chicken rice

I can’t decide which one is worse, Sunday nights or Monday mornings. Perhaps it’s Sunday nights because while there’s still a night ahead, you know you’re wasting precious time dreading the coming week. Ah well, at least it was a good weekend while it lasted.

breakwater

Hillarys was prettier than when I last visited. The new Breakwater restaurant was impressive and the weather was perfect.

FAB

It was burgers and milkshake sort of weather. My FAB burger was pretty good, but I think Grill’d burgers are possibly my favourite out of all the gourmet burger joints popping up around Perth.

bento

Surely the weekend is all about comfort homecooking, watching TVB dramas on end and just lazing about doing nothing?

hoibo

I am reluctant to reveal the whereabouts of this little gem with some of the best chicken rice in town.

chicken rice

Only I think everyone knows about it already because we met Calvin’s family whom were also there for the first time having heard about the famous chicken rice. And it was good! Generous portions, affordable pricing, great presentation, juicy tender chicken, fragrant rice and great salted veg/tomato soup. The soup reminded of my mum’s kiam chye duck soup so much, we went to the grocery shop afterward to buy ingredients to make our own at home.

I love discovering new foodie places (^__^).

Now it’s back to mourning the weekend (-____-), hope everyone had a lovely weekend as well.

 

8 Responses to “Hillarys and good chicken rice”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk November 9, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    I tell you har, The Spring’s chicken rice is really good leh. I miss it lah. One night Andy and I ate it for dinner, and then supper straight afterwards.

  2. 2 rita November 9, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    i’ve always dreaded sundays. only because, i know mondays are just right around the bend… and i hate mondays. siiigh. thinking about it – i don’t think it’s monday that i hate so much. it’s the getting up early after a very short weekend.

    girl, that chicken is making my mouth water. i’m hungry now! lol!

  3. 3 superbadkitty February 20, 2011 at 2:02 am

    Just went to Hoi Bo for lunch yesterday – a bit of a let down as the chicken was not as pictured here. It was pale, and had shards of bone through. The flavour was ok, though a bit bland, and so was the haam choy soup. The chilli sauce tasted like bottled chilli sauce, and the rice was not soft (had to drench it in soup to make it edible). Great portion size, though. The chicken rice for two people with a pot of chrysanthemum tea cost $22.50. Not the best, and to travel all that distance, I think I still prefer Ten Ten, even though their chilli sauce is worse than Hoi Bo, the portion size of chicken is bigger, chicken is tastier and the rice and soup much better than Hoi Bo and consistently good every visit. At Hoi Bo, I asked for the drumstick and when it arrived, the waitress insisted it was drumstick when I asked her “is that drumstick?”. Lo and behold, when I went through the chicken, half was breast which was what I saw. Not a good sign when they don’t give customers what they ask for. Ten Ten always gives me all drumstick when I ask and also extra pieces from the thigh and includes the wing (that’s how big the portion size is lol). I seriously doubt I would ever return to Hoi Bo as it wasn’t good chicken rice to start with.

    • 4 daitaoha February 20, 2011 at 11:59 am

      I still haven’t tried the famous Ten Ten chicken rice yet, must go there someday. Have you tried chicken rice at Tak Chee? I reckon they’re pretty good.

      • 5 superbadkitty February 23, 2011 at 1:22 am

        Yes, I used to only go to Tak Chee and the other Penang restaurant on William St for chicken rice (then of course I discovered new places through all you wonderful food bloggers!). Haven’t gone in ages, after I discovered Ten Ten lol, as the chicken rice at Ten Ten is nicer than Tak Chee’s. The other Penang restaurant (before it changed hands a couple of times) used to serve better chicken rice than Tak Chee. I intend to give the other Penang restaurant another try, and will report back…

        Just noticed you have a new post on one in Nedlands – I wasn’t sure if it was worth a visit (or authentic enough). Your post has given me a good idea of what to expect now 🙂 and I will go try that one too. Thanks!

      • 6 daitaoha February 25, 2011 at 9:21 am

        The Nedlands place isn’t a restaurant, more like a takeaway joint, it’s good chicken rice for a takeaway place, but I doubt it’s up to Ten Ten standards.

  4. 7 superbadkitty October 4, 2012 at 1:56 am

    Hi again 🙂 Just thought I’d provide you with an update and especially for your followers who are Hainanese Chicken Rice lovers. I decided it was too harsh to judge Hoi Bo by just that one meal so I’ve been back – many times in fact, as well as to Tak Chee and Ten Ten. Perth still hasn’t got great chicken rice, but after going back to all three places numerous times, I have to agree with you now – the Hoi Bo one is the best in town. It may not be truly authentic (not one of the three places are), but it really is the silkiest, most succulent chicken out of the three places. It’s also got a lovingly “home-cooked” flavour with the garlic oil garnish, and the ingredients are the best and freshest out of all three places too. It seems to be a fairly yin/yang balanced meal with the type of soup and the fresh cucumber and tomato slices. The chilli sauce is also freshly made, and made with good ingredients – definitely the best chilli sauce out of the three as well.

    Ten Ten: I’ve noticed a “stale” type of flavour from the rice. I’m not quite sure what to make of it, or whether they use pre-used oil to cook the rice in, but it’s not a fresh taste like Hoi Bo. The chilli sauce at Ten Ten is a joke – watery and too vinegary. The other thing is, I seem to always get something like indigestion (?) later in the afternoon.

    Tak Chee: The chicken here is always overcooked and deboned (made for gwailos!) unfortunately, it has a kind of funny “strong old chicken” flavour…not sure quite how else to describe it, but it’s not fresh-tasting and it’s not silky or succulent like Hoi Bo. The bean sprouts are a nice touch, like Ipoh Chicken – but it’s usually overcooked and the chilli sauce tastes like it’s a commercial chilli sauce, as in out of a bought-bottle. The soup here is a joke – it’s in a small bowl which a soup lover would gulp down in two mouthfuls. I noticed they actually charge for extra bowls so I guess they’re just trying to make extra money by making you order an extra bowl, but the attitude behind it is a bit funny when first of all, soup costs next to nothing and secondly, places like Hoi Bo give you gigantic serves of both soup and rice, ie when you order it for one person at Hoi Bo, it’s enough for two people (and it’s not just chicken broth, it’s a proper soup). If the Golden King further down on William St offers free soup all the time, why can’t Tak Chee? The Tak Chee price is also the most expensive out of all three – because you have to pay for parking (if you can find a spot!). I often ask myself, is it worth the effort if it’s mediocre?

    The only bad thing about the Hoi Bo HCR is it’s only available on weekends. The Hoi Bo people have a good attitude and it’s the only Asian place I’ve been to in Perth which serve meals made with fresh, good quality ingredients and in such large portions. It really is modern Asian food for Australian palates.

    • 8 daitaoha October 5, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      I haven’t been back to Tak Chee for a long time, it used to be good and my favourite in town but over a few bad experiences I stopped going. Hoi Bo is still my go to place for chicken rice in Perth, but I agree that there aren’t that many good chicken rice places in Perth.


Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


