Wake me up when 2010 ends

2nd November 2010. The day that my offer for the home got accepted. First offer for first home and it was accepted overnight, so I guess I got pretty lucky there. It hasn’t sunk it yet even though I have started the ball rolling in terms of looking for a settlement agent, getting finance approval etc. Paperwork, flying emails and telephone calls.

I wish everything wasn’t crammed into 2010.Job changes. Lots of moving. Relationships. Hospitals. Doctors. Food stalls. Lots of visitors. Holidays (that I wish I had more of). Further studies. Now first home and the start of mortgage stress and heavy financial responsibilities. It’s all a bit overwhelming and I can’t help wishing that it was spaced out more evenly through the years. It’s been chaotic to say the least.

Last night I watched the video of our Japan trip that Jan and Andy made and sent to us. It was really fun hearing my ah pa’s funny comments, watching us marvel at the sight of sakuras, reliving the great foodie experiences and just seeing the big big smiles and laughter. I can’t remember the last time I felt so happy and smiled so freely. Even though it was only six months ago, I feel like I’ve aged so much in half a year.

All my colleagues are bemoaning the fact that Christmas is only 7 weeks away and that 2010 is almost over. A colleague talked about how her grandmother told her that ‘the days go faster as you grow older’ and she exclaimed ‘my nan was right!’ I didn’t really contribute to the conversation, I’m not sure they would understand if I told them that I just want 2010 to be over.

2 Responses to “Wake me up when 2010 ends”


  1. 1 Jan November 5, 2010 at 6:21 am

    Wake me up when the xmas holidays start I say.


Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


