When I get mad …

I cook. I don’t know what others do to let off steam when they’ve had a horrible day at work. Yesterday I came home from work spewing and ready to bite. Luckily none of the boys were home (or I’m sure I would have taken off a head or two) so I headed straight into the kitchen and started taking out all my pots and pans.

prawn

I must have put some of my anger and heat into this dish of sambal prawns. It came out super duper hot and spicy.

brussel

Stir fried brussel sprouts, these little things look so cute but I just don’t like them, I think it’s all the children books about kids hiding brussel sprouts under their plates, I didn’t like brussel sprouts even before I ate them.

sesame

Sesame chicken drumsticks.

pumpkin

I was going to bake cupcakes but was sidetracked by my mother’s steamed pumpkin kueh recipe. I called home to ask my mum for some tips, and immediately felt better. Her instructions were something like  ‘2 cups of rice flour, 3 cups of water ..’ so I  asked ‘what kind of cup? As in baking measurement cup?’ She said ‘no.. you know that bowl that we use at home with the flowers on the side.. that cup lah’. Hehehe, my mother is so cute, and really a master chef because obviously she doesn’t use measurements and just goes by ‘feel’. I’ll never get there (T_____T).

pumpkin kueh

Despite my shoddy attempt, the kueh actually turned out quite good, except I forgot to season the flour water mixture so it wasn’t salty enough. Otherwise, pan fried and crispy, it was quite nice.

xiaogui

Even though talking to my mother cheered me up, the cooking fest didn’t work off all my frustration. But this turtle did! Doesn’t it have the cutest smile? He just looks so happy and sweet, I just find myself smiling every time I look at it.

xiaogui1

Cute even upside down! Hehehehe 🙂 Well it’s Friday tomorrow. Bring on the weekend!!!!!!!

6 Responses to “When I get mad …”


  1. 1 Cheng August 5, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Re brussel sprouts – to mask the taste of the sprouts or add oomp to the dish, fry bacon seperately, chop them up. Caramelized some onions as well. Toss together with cooked brussel sprouts. It won’t take the taste of sprouts completely, but bacon is an added incentive to eat them. 🙂

    • 2 Di August 6, 2010 at 10:08 am

      sounds interesting and fattening at the same time. I think I just won’t buy brussel sprouts, these ones were a present so we had to cook them 🙂 but if i ever get them again …

  2. 3 wendy August 6, 2010 at 4:12 am

    Be happy!
    It’s almost the end of this week!!! Yeah.

  3. 5 slappedbygunk August 6, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Haha at you not liking brussel sprouts even before you ate them. I’m the opposite – I read about how nasty they were but when I first had them they weren’t as bad as I imagined! So I like them haha.


Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Pages


