Malaysian cooking

The weekend was terrific, hence I’m suffering from a terrible case of Monday blues at the moment. *Groan* I really hate Sunday nights.

I’ve been experimenting with Malaysian dishes for the food stall. We might not end up having the stall after all because apparently nothing is supplied by the organisers, you pretty much just get a patch of grass. Not sure how I’m going to heat up any food with no electricity, no powerpoints etc. Oh well. Perhaps it’s for the best, it gives me extra time to perfect my  cooking.

curry veg

Curry vegetables for dinner tonight. The boys liked the curry and said it tasted even better with vegetables than chicken. I think I’m starting to get the hang of making up my own curry paste.

rendaing

A new experiment, beef rendang. I quite like this recipe and the beef was nicely tender. Best part about beef rendang is the toasted kerisik  (toasted grated coconut) in the gravy, yums.

I might cook nasi kunyit (yellow rice) soon, once I get hold of some glutinous rice.Being a clumsy person is hazardous in the kitchen, I have suffered numerous cuts and burns from the kitchen, cooking scars I call them, cut my thumb pretty deeply today, but I guess I’m so used to it that the blood doesn’t faze me any longer. I just wish I wasn’t such a clumsy cook.

Meanwhile it’s back to the daily humdrum of work again. Sigh. I wish weekends lasted forever.

4 Responses to “Malaysian cooking”


  1. 1 mum August 2, 2010 at 12:12 am

    haha, i laughed so much when i read about you only getting just a patch of grass for your stall.

  2. 3 slappedbygunk August 2, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    So how do the other people heat up their food? Just a patch of grass sounds quite bizarre to me.


Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Pages


