Reach for the sky

I wish someone would tell me that I should never settle for mediocre. Most of the time we don’t do the things we should do because we’re afraid to lose what we currently have, because we don’t want to risk uncertainty and we don’t want to be alone.

If only I could be content with what I currently have. If only I could stop the what-ifs, the buts and maybes. I can’t decide whether I’m being safe and conventional, or I’m just a weakling and a coward. I suspect it’s the latter.

I am taking mini risks and making minor changes in my life. To throw it all up in the air feels too big for me and I’m afraid I’ll crash with no one to catch me on the way down Most of all I want to feel satisfied, knowing that I have done all that I could have done, that I have achieved all that I could achieve within my capabilities.

I still want to fly and dream of better days. My feet are firmly set on the ground, but my head and heart have always been in the clouds. Where do I go from here?

5 Responses to “Reach for the sky”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk July 17, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Mediocrity isn’t bad at all, if that’s what you’re content with. It’s when you feel like you aren’t fulfilling your potential that a problem arises. I’ve told you before that whilst you are young you should really pursue what it is you feel compelled to do or have a keen interest in, to get it out of your system at least, if not anything else. I personally feel like I’m late to the party since at 34 I’ve only just about woken up to taking care of my self-fulfilment and self-actualisation. I really think that I spent my life up till now just going through the motions of surviving and not thinking about what I can do to make myself happier and more content or how to get there. So the fact that you’re feeling like this now is a good thing. Work towards it. Try doing whatever it is you want to do. Don’t regret. Don’t be like me.

    And if after it all you realise that you were actually born to be mediocre, well so what? At least you can be proud that you tried. A tryer is never mediocre to be honest. It’s the givers-up without trying who are the losers in life.

    Ganbatte. You can do it. We’ll be here for you.

  2. 3 cynthia July 18, 2010 at 7:30 am

    follow your gut feeling.
    I wasn’t planning for this big change: moving to Melbourne, working and all

    I was like that. But I guess life’s short, we have too little time to thing what ifs, what is that.. so on and so forth.

    Just do it. You are still able to flunk a few chances while you can. At least you won’t regret for not doing it

    Good luck

    =)

    • 4 daitaoha July 20, 2010 at 10:28 am

      Melbourne is a place that I am considering. What made you decide to move in the end? Thanks for your words of wisdom Cynthia, it’s nice to know you’re still reading 🙂


  1. 1 2012 « daitaoha Trackback on December 31, 2011 at 8:19 am

Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages


