Orange chiffon cake

I really wanted to put up a Japan post, but as my next post has about 40+ photos, let’s just say it’s a work-in-progress, but I promise, sometime soon. In the meantime, more cooking pics ahead …

spaghetti

Spaghetti carbonara for our Sunday dinner, a request from the new housemate, both the boys like creamy, rich and cheesy sauces, I myself prefer tomato and herb laden sauces. Still not perfecting the carbonara yet, but I’ll get there.

ayam masak merah

But at least I’m getting the hang of Ayam Masak Merah, possibly one of my favourite Malay curries and a must-have at our house during Chinese New Year. We usually order it in but maybe I’ll be able to cook it for guests during CNY next year?

hotcakes

I like making desserts nowadays, leftover Mcdonalds hotcakes (courtesy of Gerry) with vanilla icecream and blueberries drizzled with honey.

chiffon

My first attempt at baking orange chiffon cake, I’ve been wanting to bake this for ages (ask my mum, I’ve asked her for the recipe years ago and keep asking her for tips but never actually baked the cake) and I finally did! It turned out pretty good but not perfect because the top wasn’t browned enough before I took it out of the oven. But texture wise, it was soft and fluffy so I’m pleased. Pandan chiffon next!

Sigh, is it Friday yet?

6 Responses to “Orange chiffon cake”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk July 13, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Your ayam masak merah looks really good. I’d ask for the recipe but I’m very lazy to cook haha.

    • 2 Di July 17, 2010 at 12:24 am

      i don’t think i have a recipe yet, i just looked at a few and tweaked it here and there. but once i perfect it i’ll write it down. it’s not hard!

  2. 3 Cheng July 14, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    I love your food blogs. I couldn’t help but it reminds me of something familiar – until I recalled the movie Julie and Julia. The pictures are amazing and I only imagine it taste 1000x better. Keep on cooking and blogging.

    Your faithful fan. 🙂

    • 4 daitaoha July 17, 2010 at 12:27 am

      ahh you’ll have to come to Perth to eat the real thing then you can decide for yourself, still learning, we can swap recipes next time.

  3. 5 wendy July 15, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Very joyful life. Lucky Gerry.


Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages


