First day in Osaka : Dotonbori & 130 yen conveyor belt sushi

Our trip to Japan started from our transit point in Hongkong where Jo and I met up with my parents. My mum gave me a prettily wrapped present, guess what was inside?

Yummy St.Honore bakery eggtarts which she bought from outside the terminal, yum yum yum, I love Hongkong eggtarts. The holiday was off to a good start.

By the time we arrived in Osaka, it was late afternoon. We travelled by train to reach our hotel which was located in the famous entertainment district of Namba. I just read that Namba has Japan’s best food culture ‘Kuidaore’ meaning  ‘eat till you drop’ , now I know why my foodie sis chose Namba as our hotel spot, excellent choice Jan!

We were located on Dontonbori which is a fantastic area filled with eateries and lots of shopping. Sigh.. I miss Dotonbori and Shinsaibashi, our favourite shopping arcade in Osaka. The giant moving crab billboard of the crab restaurant Kani Doraku is a famous landmark in Osaka. We actually had a crab meal at Kani Doraku a few days later but that’s a whole other post.

The first night of walking the streets of Dotonbori was  so exciting, there were lights everywhere, people, so many cute things to see and things to eat. We couldn’t stop snapping photos and pointing excitedly at everything and anything.

My father’s first meal in Japan was ramen of course. Both he and my brother in law bought their ramen via vending machine outside the stall, this is pretty common in Japan and very convenient too.

It wasn’t the best ramen we had in Japan but better than anything to be had in Perth or England. My father was satisfied.

There’s something comforting about eating piping hot ramen out in the open by the street on a chilly night. I wish we had nice outdoor ramen restaurants around Perth, I would love popping into one during a cold winter night and having a huge bowl of ramen, ahhh…

The rest of us girls didn’t have ramen because we were hanging out for something even better. First meal in Japan? Sushi of course! And fantastic, fresh, 130 yen for all plates conveyor belt sushi too. 130 yen is around $1.50 AUD, I was expecting food in Japan to be expensive, so  was pleasantly surprised at how cheap and affordable the sushi was. Best of all, it was so good, the quality of the sushi, the fish and seafood was fresh and wonderful, the range available was wide and plentiful, there were many things on display that I had never seen or tried before.

One of the highlights was raw horsemeat, my sister dared me to try it and I *gulp* did. It was interesting. But I wouldn’t try it again. It felt very raw, didn’t taste very strong of anything in particular but I kept thinking ‘I’m eating raw horse’, so it didn’t go down very well. I had to gulp lots of strong green tea after swallowing.

The maguro toro (tuna belly) was very very good, best tuna I’ve ever had, so fresh and just gorgeous.

Usually if we have conveyor belt sushi in Singapore or Australia, we look out for raw salmon sushis most of all. But in this shop, we didn’t even bother with the normal salmon sushis but only ate salmon toro (salmon belly) instead, why settle for average salmon cuts when you can have delicious, melt in the mouth salmon belly instead? Best of all, everything was only 130 yen!

Oiishi sushi of such gorgeous quality that was amazingly affordable and so fun to eat (I love conveyor belt sushi, what to pick, what to pick..), what a great way to start our holiday in Japan.

11 Responses to “First day in Osaka : Dotonbori & 130 yen conveyor belt sushi”


  1. 1 mum May 6, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    I want to eat tuna toro and salmon toro sushi!! so nice!!

  2. 3 mum May 6, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    When are you changing your profile photo?

  3. 5 slappedbygunk May 6, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Hahaha at the “I’m eating raw horse”. I was also the same, so I didn’t enjoy it much I have to say. Interesting though.

    I miss cheap and good sushi!!

    • 6 daitaoha May 8, 2010 at 12:46 am

      Have to describing it as interesting when we don’t really like it, hahaha. Eh btw, my colleagues saw some of the photos u took of the sakuras and everyone thinks they’re really beautiful and professional.

  4. 7 wendy May 7, 2010 at 4:20 am

    WOW, your 1st updated blog is impressive, i wanna see more. 🙂
    The food looks so fresh and well presented.
    Soooo Great!!!

  5. 9 Jo May 7, 2010 at 5:08 am

    Aiyah, this post makes me homesick for Japan…mmm….cheap and nice sushi…yummy..

  6. 11 rita May 10, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    oh, yes. the ramen noodles in the vending machine. i’ve always thought those were such a fantastic idea. funny thing is, the ramen comes out warm. those sushi looks so good and fresh!


Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages


