The end of March madness

I have a young female colleague who’s beautiful and vivacious. A couple of months ago, I noticed that she was losing weight pretty rapidly and put it down to her newly taken up martial arts practice. She also chopped off her very long locks and sported a short cute bob. Then she suddenly became quiet, her loud laughs weren’t so frequent and her smile didn’t reach her eyes anymore. I finally realised that she was suffering from a broken heart.

Why do we put ourselves through all this emotional turmoil to come out bruised and shattered I wonder? Does anyone survive this? Are there success stories and happily ever afters?

I’m really really glad that March is over.

I think March signaled the end of 2009, of holiday season and the start of the harsh realities of life in general. Summer is officially over and the cool autumn season is fingering its way through Perth. There were moments in March when time sped past and minutes, hours spun by gloriously. Then there were horrifying instances when time came to the standstill and I could feel the clock ticking in time with my throbbing heart beat. Being told by the hospital nurse to leave was one such moment.

One full month of conflicting emotions, extreme highs and lows, big decisions, rash ideas and hopeful baby steps. I’ve been thinking about leaving Perth. Maybe I’m just exhausted. The thought of our Japan holiday (next week!) hasn’t even sunk in yet even though I’ve finally changed my Aud to Yen. My actions are moving towards Japan but my heart and brain hasn’t followed yet. I am looking forward to basking in the warmth of family, the tranquility of temples and being able to just close my eyes and pray in silence.

I knew even before the end of 2009 that 2010 would be a very volatile year. But if March is a sign of things to come, well .. let’s just hope April will be better if not fantastic. Happy Easter guys :).

1 Response to “The end of March madness”


  1. 1 rita April 3, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    “Why do we put ourselves through all this emotional turmoil to come out bruised and shattered I wonder? Does anyone survive this?”

    yes, we all survive. we love. we hurt. we love again. human nature.

    “Are there success stories and happily ever afters?”

    look at your parents. i, for one have a success story – i have been happily living with my hubby for 12 years now (together for 6yrs; married for 6yrs).

    feel better soon. it’s Easter… rebirth and resurrection of life and hope. cheer up! things will get much, much better. maybe, you just need some tweaking in your everyday life. have a fantastic time in japan. i miss traveling that country.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Pages


