Tofu and eggs

I reckon I could live on tofu, eggs and fish for at least a month before getting sick of the combination. Healthy and yummy ingredients. I especially wish we could eat more tofu, but believe it or not, tofu is actually quite expensive here! Sadness.

A new recipe, onsen style eggs which I poached in boiling water for 10 minutes, then cracked on top silken tofu with a dressing made of mirin, soy, sugar and dashi soup stock.

With the rest of the tofu, I dusted with light coating of seasoned plain flour and pan fried till crispy with a drizzle of teriyaki sauce. Packed it with oven baked drumsticks, and half boiled egg for our lunch bento the next day.

I’m still going on my slow cooking soup spree, this one was papaya, huai shan, barley and bamboo shoot leaves soup.

Tomorrow I’m going to try cooking soup with pork ribs instead, I bought a whole pack during the weekend, can’t wait!

2 Responses to “Tofu and eggs”


  1. 1 Jan March 29, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Pork ribs are great for boiling soup. Ugh I’m not a fish person. Except sushi and sashimi lah. But I love tofu and eggs! Soon we’ll be eating real onsen tamago hehehe!

    • 2 daitaoha March 30, 2010 at 11:17 am

      my pork rib soup worked well today, i boiled it with lotus root and honey dates. yeah, can’t wait to eat real onsen tamago.


Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Pages


