My new favourite cafe @ Boucla

Today I had breakfast with some female colleagues before work. We were there to try out the cafe where her hubby works as the general manager and head barista. I was kinda embarrassed when she introduced me to the cute 19 year old barista as ‘the coffee aficionado’. ‘this is the one you want to impress’ she said which I protested ‘ no no! I’m just learning!’ But it was too late, the sweet boy looked at me earnestly with ‘ ahhh….’ eyes. Oh dear. I think my daily cups of Velvet takeaways have given my colleagues the wrong impression that I’m a real coffee nut, when in truth, I am just so lucky to have the lovely and mighty Velvet within a stone’s throw from my office.

Speaking of good coffee, I’ve known about Boucla since my uni days (and that’s very long ago). Back then I was completing a placement at an organisation located opposite, I once offered to buy coffee for my supervisor and she solemnly said ‘the best is at Boucla’. Of course I wasn’t interested in coffee back in those days and was more interested in stuffing my face with the gorgeous jam donuts from the nearby Jean Claude Pattiserie.

This little cafe is practically an institution in Subiaco, always very busy and popular amongst the locals. The interior of Boucla is dim, warm and exotic, someone once described it as ‘Aladdin’s cave’ and that’s the perfect description. A mini treasure trove that serves fabulous coffee and cakes.

It’s difficult to find a good cafe that serves great coffee AND great cakes in Perth. It’s always one or the other. Cakes too often are stale, dry or mass produced. But the cakes and tarts and little treats in Boucla makes one salivate, you don’t know where to start, you can’t make up your mind. The beautiful vegetable filo tarts, chocolate and ricotta cake or fresh, colourful greek salads?

We settled for the banana walnut cake which was gorgeous, so moist, with chockful of nuts, crispy banana chips, sooo good. I wish I could have some now *sad*.

My coffee was fantastic. I tried to sip it bit by bit to savour the creaminess, the smooth texture, the fragrance, but it was too late, I drained away my glass and R laughed at my sad face, knowing that I wanted more. It went so well with the cake, or should I say the cake went so well with my coffee?

Enough said. My new favourite cafe. I will be returning.

Boucla Cafe
349 Rokeby Rd
Subiaco
Phone: 9381 2841

Daitaoha ratings:

Food: 8/10

Service: 6/10

5 Responses to “My new favourite cafe @ Boucla”


  1. 1 Jan March 24, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    Mmm the coffee and cake sound good! Nice pics! The place looks really nice.

  2. 2 u know who March 25, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Hey Di

    I thought i better drop a message just in case u think im dead…

    sigh…. look at all the reviews prove to me that you are having heaps of fun and me being in Gero makes me even more excited to move back to Perth

    Only thing to look forward here is for Dome cafe to open which is literally the only proper cafe in Gero…

    I messaged u a week ago to see how Richard was going but obviously u never reply!! lol

    Hope everything is ok and there won’t be another freaky storm heading to Perth anytime soon

  3. 3 mum March 25, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    Is this ‘u know who’ from Gero someone i have met before? how are you?

    • 4 Jaso March 29, 2010 at 1:46 pm

      Hi Auntie!

      Yes we have met before! lol

      I’m tired but good! Can’t wait till holidays!

      Hope you and uncle are going well as well! Really miss going out for breakfast with you both in Kuching!

      • 5 daitaoha March 30, 2010 at 11:18 am

        i find it funny that you and my mum are having a conversation on my blog, haha. you don’t miss my parents, you just miss bak kut teh in Kuching!


Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Pages


