Learning how to ‘bou tong’

Bou tong meaning slow cook soup or boil soup in Cantonese. I really love Cantonese soups which require hours (ok maybe just 2 hours) of boiling then simmering and reboiling again. I’ve never been very good at it but I’m getting the hang of it now and discovering new ingredients and soups along the way.

Slow boiled chicken soup with carrots, sweet corn, huai shan and dang gui. Herbally flavour but not too strong or bitter with the sweetness of sweet corn and carrots coming through.

Pear, apple, water chestnuts and white fungus soup which could pass for ‘tong sui’ or sweet soup if I added sugar instead of salt. I really like fruit based slow cooked soup and am trying to figure out my favourite combination. So far I like chicken, pear and sweet corn, very nice.

Slow cooked soups are fun and interesting, I have about three different cookbooks just based on soups, so I have lots more to try and discover.

Ok not a soup but also a first timer recipe for me, vegetable croquette which I didn’t deep fry but shallow fried instead, I made them with mashed potato and onions. Drizzled with tonkatsu sauce.

Yesterday’s lunch bento was basil garlic fried rice, ‘yuan’ style pan fried fish fillets with ponzu sauce, tofu steaks (lightly seasoned with garlic, salt, pepper and a dusting of plain flour) and fried eggs with tomato. Why so many things? It was my weekend get rid of stuff in fridge mode.

There was a freak storm in Perth today and it was seriously very scary. Didn’t help that my bus broke down in front of a bus stop so we watched the storm catch up to us and lightning flash and thunder rumble before our eyes. Luckily everyone made it safe ok.

Unfortunately my room wasn’t so lucky. A half shut window meant my room was half flooded and HC greeted me with a mop at the front door and cheerily said ‘bad news! bedroom flooded!’ , Jo’s thunderstorm blown hair was cute though and I couldn’t resist taking a photo.

More thunderstorms predicted tomorrow mornings. Ahh well … every cloud has a silver lining right? Cold weather means more soups!

9 Responses to “Learning how to ‘bou tong’”


  1. 1 傑仔 March 22, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    The tong was really tasty, thx God gave me such nice food。

  2. 2 rita :) March 23, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    seeing or watching the lighting strike clearly from across the sky is such a freaky sight, yet amazing, at the same time. irony of nature, isn’t it?

    i hope your bed, clothes, etc didn’t get ruined. that sucks! but, it’s good to know to have friends who are there to help. jo looks cute with that storm-hair. hee-hee. here’s to hoping for a nicer weather, especially, on the weekend.

  3. 4 Jan March 23, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Jo told me the true extent of the storm, your account is very understated! So scary.

  4. 6 mum March 23, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    Jo’s hair looks wet and oily.

  5. 8 wendy March 28, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    It was very scary day.
    I can’t see anything, the water was just pouring from the above. Only few minutes the water was about knee height.
    Take care.


Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Pages


