Roles reversal

Last night I stayed in at home with my parents while Jo and HC had their early valentine’s day celebration.

My grandfather was sick the day before so my Ah Pa and I drove up to visit him. On the way there, we stopped by 101 and bought a small mandarin tree for our home. I think Jo and I will decorate it today with red ribbons and perhaps a hanging gold tiger or two.

It was very quiet at my grandparent’s place as my grandfather was sleeping. Not that he’s very loud nowadays, the famous booming voice is quiet nowadays.  My father and I sat in the living room with my Mahmah. Mahmah told me that she is growing old and told me that she’s 80 this year. My grandfather is 81. My father chatted with my grandmother in Foochow and I didn’t understand most of the conversation, but he was relaxed and smiley. Suddenly I was reminded of the old days when my grandparents would drive up to our house every evening. Always with a bag of apples, or char siew baos, some buns, I probably developed my habit of eating lots of apples from there.

Both of them would sit by the swing in our garden, enjoying the evening breeze and we would come out to chat with them a bit, bring out cups of warm water. They always sat there for an hour or so, then they would go home. We would help them into their cars and wave goodbye to them from the porch.

Last night my grandmother stood by her her porch and waved goodbye to us as Ah Pa and I drove away. My grandfather isn’t able to drive anymore, so we go out to visit them instead. Before we left, my grandmother hugged me again and told me that she was growing shorter and that I was growing taller (^__^).

Some things have changed forever but I’m glad some will never change.

2 Responses to “Roles reversal”


  1. 1 Jan February 12, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    I miss my mah mah 😥

  2. 2 u know who February 14, 2010 at 2:37 am

    Hey Di!

    Reading your posts in Kuching really make me miss HK now! Remember to spend more time with your grandparents as that is one thing i regret not doing enough of…

    Happy Chinese New Year to you and your family and hope that this year will be the smoothest year yet for you!

    Eat lots of yummy food for me and last of all, have heaps of fun!!

    btw im coming back to Perth on the long weekend. U guys back by then?


Leave a Reply

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Pages


