Falafel heaven @ The Prophet

I was pleasantly surprised when Richard informed me that we had a table booked at The Prophet (one of my must-eats in Perth) for the weekend. Very popular, this little Lebanese restaurant requires booking two weeks in advance for a table especially for Saturday nights.

I don’t know much about Lebanese food so I didn’t know what to expect. All I knew was, everyone I knew who had been to The Prophet raved about the food, in fact, A told me ‘everything is good there’.  And he was right, everything we ate that night was delicious and pretty amazing.

A complimentary basket of flat Lebanese bread with pickled gherkin and garlic dip was served to us at the beginning of the meal. Even that was yummy, I rolled up the crunchy pickled cucumber in the bread and dipped it in the refreshing and light garlic dip, very appetizing.

The falafel. Who knew balls of deep fried mashed chickpeas and beans could be so delicious? You would be hard pressed to find me ever ordering chickpea or bean anything on a menu, but these heavily spiced falafels were warm to the finger, crispy on the outside, so fragrant and chewy on the inside. I just kept saying to Richard ‘how can chickpeas taste soooo good?!’

The reviews said that the lady fingers were to die for. I was expecting stuffed lady fingers, the vegetable, filled with mince, something very yong taofu style, But it was really minced beef and pinenuts wrapped in filo pastry and deep fried. More like springrolls with a mince filling that was crunchy and yummy. All piping hot and delish. This was good, but  my heart was lost to the falafels which  were truly outstanding. I’ve never had falafels in my life so I have nothing to compare them to, but The Prophet falafels will always be a benchmark to other falafels in future.

We wanted to have a main but decided against grilled meat. Instead we had  the hot fish. Out come a large piece of white fish (not sure what fish variety though) smothered in a coriander-y, chilli yoghurt sauce. Very interesting because we’ve never had fish cooked that way before. It was nice and tasty, and we mopped up the yoghurt with the remainder of the bread.

At one point I headed outside to the toilet (you walk right into the kitchen and out the backway to get there) and walked aimlessly around empty rooms only to realize that I had walked into the living quarters instead of the restroom out in the garden. Oops. (=______=).

The service at The Prophet was friendly and prompt, the atmosphere warm and lively.  Everyone seemed to know everyone, there was lots of loud chatter and laughter in the buzzing restaurant. We spent as much time people watching as oohing and aahing over the food from our little corner table by the window. I remember that night vividly, I headed out from home in a melancholy and resigned mood, but the food cheered me up to no end and at the end of the night I was on a foodie high.

Can’t wait for our next visit.


Daitaoha ratings:

Food: 7.5/10

Service: 7/10

The Prophet
907a Albany Hwy
East Victoria Park 6101 WA
Phone: (08) 9361 1101

4 Responses to “Falafel heaven @ The Prophet”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk January 4, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    I LOVE falafel!! Lebanese food is one of my favourites, I have to go there next time.

  2. 3 mum January 5, 2010 at 5:41 am

    Is that bread or handkerchief I see in the basket in the first picture?


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Pages


