2010 New Year resolutions

I’m getting ready to go out for our New Year’s Eve dinner tonight. It’s going to be fun, we’re getting the boys to dress up and I’ll do Jo’s hair and makeup for her. I even picked out her dress already, it’s peach with a black satin bow. Then we might meet up at Xinlong’s afterwards to countdown and herald in the new year.

But before all that, it’s time for the annual New Year Resolutions which I tick off at the end of every year. I had a look at my 2009 new year resolutions and I did pretty ok on most of them (healthier lifestyle, more confident etc.) but failed miserably with the big ticket items e.g. continue legal studies, get a driving license, buy a house.

So here’s hoping that I will be able to fulfill my 2010 resolutions which are:

  1. Get my WA driving license – this has been on my resolution list since 2007 so I had better do something about it this year.
  2. Sign up for studies by end of 2010– this one is more difficult due to financial constraints but I’ll try my best.
  3. Maintain a healthy lifestyle – more exercise, healthy eating, lots of home cooking.
  4. Buy a house – it’s always good to aim for the impossible.
  5. Be more positive.
  6. Excel in career (higher pay, permanency, right career path).
  7. Same as every year, be a good daughter, sister, girlfriend and friend.
  8. Secret,hehe.

2009 has really been a year of change for me. Career wise, everything has been pretty great albeit stressful, from my trip to Alice Springs, to having (sadly past tense) a wonderful manager, J, who was and still is lovely, warm and supportive. Great colleagues in A, a brilliant and inspirational  mentor, and T, who giggles with me everyday when we swap family stories and anecdotes. I think 2010 will be a great learning curve, very challenging and exciting, I’m looking forward to it.

Health wise, I changed my eating habits completely, did more exercise and adopted a healthier lifestyle. This is something I hope to maintain and improve on in 2010.

Family and friends, I’ve become closer to friends like Jason and Wendy, Ming Sian, Jaso  and met new people like Grey Hoodie Boy. Perhaps the best thing of all was getting to know Richard.  It was nice to go back to Kuching and hang out with the old crowd, Asrul, Wui Hau, Xin Chen, Brio, I’m glad we’re still good friends. This year Jan and Andy visited Perth which was so great and wondeful. I think this year I was closer to Jo and HC as well, which is actually really nice, seeing how he is about to be future bro-in-law.

So all in all, a pretty good year. I have a feeling 2010 will be another year of massive change, ups and downs and lots of travel (Japan in April with the family!). I’m excited and I can’t wait.

Happy New Year everyone. I hope 2010’s a good one.

2 Responses to “2010 New Year resolutions”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk January 1, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    You know, managing to adopt a healthier lifestyle is a huge achievement is a huge achievement so I think you did really well in 2009! But I hope 2010 is a much better year for you and you achieve even more!

  2. 2 di January 2, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Hehe, thanks Jan. I agree that the health bit was probably the most challenging thing I did all year, so 2010 is about improving and maintaining I guess.

    I think 2010 will be exciting, it already feels so jam packed with travel plans, events and ideas. Let’s hope it will be a really really great year for all of us.


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Pages


