The mother of all Kuching posts

I’m flying back to Perth this afternoon so I thought I had better post the last of my Kuching photos.

It was Bryan’s last breakfast in Kuching before he returned to Sabah, and we farewelled him with the king of Foochow hawker fare, the Kampua mee. If you haven’t guessed by now, we’re of Foochow descent so kampua mee, char zhu mee and the likes are normal breakfast items for my father. Kampua mee is perhaps Foochow version of kolo mee, stickier, oilier and mixed with oodles of chilli sauce or soy sauce, very yummy. This is Richard’s daily breakfast when he’s in Kuching.

The kopitiam we went to is also popular for it’s seafood kolo mee. My dad ordered seafood kolo mee pok for the boys.

My brother likes the yam char kueh here, a little bit tougher than the normal char kueh, but I love all things yam so this was very nice.

Guess where we headed to next? The capital of Kuching, the Spring of course! My father bought the signature tall soft cones for Jason to try.

Hehe, I like this photo a lot. I am not a fan of icecream but I really like soft cones, I think I developed this penchant from my dad who can always be seen with a soft cone when waiting for us at the airport arrival halls. When I was young, my father would give Jo and I money to buy pandan soft cone with chocolate sprinkles from a little store called Moonlight in Kenyalang. One for Jo, one for me, one for my brother and an extra one for my ah pa. Up to now, Moonlight pandan icecream is still the best soft cone I’ve ever had, sadly they closed down years ago.

We had a bit of a laksa hunt before we went to Spring but all the laksa stalls were closed. So Brio had to settle for laksa in Spring’s food court which he says was still delicious.We sent Bryan off to the airport and stopped by 101 for dinner where Jason had bak kut teh again!

But guess what we had the next morning for brunch?? Bak kut teh again!

Mum ordered a dry bak kut teh for Jason to try but I’m sure he preferred the soupy version. Jason and I met up with his Kuching friend from Perth who turned out to be Sze Kang, a close family friend’s son, so close his sister even MC-ed at my sister’s wedding. Sze Kang was also classmates with Asrul and Richard in the past, is Kuching a small world or what?

We picked my brother up from the airport and headed to Four point hotel for our Christmas eve dinner. I thought the buffet was pretty impressive but we all agreed that the best buffet we’ve ever had was at Hongkong Disneyland. I guess Mickey Mouse and all the Disney characters running around added to the appeal.

Pretty christmas mini muffins.

Jason posing with the seafood buffet, we spent most of out time at the seafood counter and sashimi counter. Asrul, Mark and his gf were at the same buffet as well, but all different tables.

I’m not sure whether it was the seafood, sashimi or pure indigestion, but I spent the rest of the night and early morning clutching my stomach in agony. It was pretty bad and I had to wave Jason away to have breakfast with my parents without me. In the afternoon when I felt better, I braved another ‘eating ice’ episode with Sze Kang and Asrul.

It was a pity that my stomach couldn’t withstand any ices because the Swee Kang shop that Asrul brought us too was so crowded and the ice kachangs looked really nice.

The really nice boys who brought Jason out for dinner at Buntal later in the night while I stayed at home and rested.

So it was goodbye to Jason the next morning and hello doctor. My brother fell ill during the night as well so both of us had to go to the doctor for some meds. Then it was some quiet time with my parents, just accompanying them on errands and doing some last minute shopping. We went back to Hui Sen and the satay shop was open, it’s a pity Jaso and Brio didn’t get to try the satay here.

My last breakfast in Kuching is Jo’s ultimate first stop in Kuching, the kueh chap. I predicted that the kueh chap lady would ask where was Joanne and I was right (^__^).

So I’m all packed up and ready to fly back to Perth where I know Jo, HC and Richard will b waiting for my presents me. The Kuching trip didn’t actually go to plan, there were many highs and lows but the best part was showing Jaso and Brio around, and spending time with my family.

I’m so spoilt in Kuching. In the fridge are boxes of sliced nashi pears (my fav) that my ah pa prepares for me. My ah pa and ah ma spent the morning driving to my favourite salad chicken rice stall to see whether it was open so they could dapao it for me (it wasn’t open). Sigh, I have the best parents.

The good news is I’m not really sad to be leaving Kuching, because I know I will be back in a month for Chinese New Year! It will be my first CNY since I don’t know when, and this time Jo and HC will definitely be back with me (and maybe even Jan!).

So bye Kuching, I’ll be back real soon.

9 Responses to “The mother of all Kuching posts”


  1. 1 mum December 27, 2009 at 7:14 am

    Wow, look at the oil on the plate of kampua mee. Not a healthy breakfast food.

  2. 3 slappedbygunk December 27, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Kuchinggggggg! I miss you Kuching!

    Yah lor, that kampua mee looks so oily… Is that Ah Ling’s brother? He looks like her a bit!

    Your Christmas buffet was a bit quiet right, all the tables in your pic were empty! Where is Four Point? I’ve never heard of it! I like all the Ah Pa photos haha.

    • 4 di December 29, 2009 at 1:08 am

      actually it was pretty full, just that we took the pictures pretty early during the meal so the restaurant was really empty. after that lots of people started coming in.

  3. 5 jo December 28, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    AAAAARRRRRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH! Kueh Chap, my favourite breakfast!!!! I miss Kueh Chap so much!!!! Mmm…that kampua mee looks great, nice and oily like how it should be! Hehehe! Four Points looks good. We must go there for some high tea or maybe some occasion when we go back. Were the oysters and mussels fresh though?

    Jan, for your information, Four Point is the hotel near the airport. Wat is that ice thingy above the ice kacang? The one with the lemon? I have never had that before.

    • 6 di December 29, 2009 at 1:08 am

      i didn’t try the mussels but i thought the oysters were ok. but then i also had diarrhoea the next day lah, don’t know whether to do with the seafood.

  4. 7 Wendy December 30, 2009 at 4:14 am

    Wah, nice buffet.
    Last time I didnt discover these food.
    Welcome back to the reality. What’s your breakfast today?

  5. 8 di December 31, 2009 at 12:25 am

    Breakfast in Perth is the most boring thing ever. No kolo mee, no laksa and definitely no kueh chap.


  1. 1 Foochow delicacies @ Kitchen Inn, Thornlie « daitaoha Trackback on November 2, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages


