The Imp

I’m so glad that The Imp is conveniently located near my house. A new addition to the Albany Highway coffee strip, we’ve passed by this tiny, buzzing cafe several times on our way to other restaurants, but never popped in to have a bite thinking that it was just a small bar. We were delighted when we found out that The Imp is not a bar, bur rather is a b.y.o. cafe  with free corkage (only if you order tapas though) that serves a wide range of tapas, breakfast, cakes and coffees.

Did I mention the coffee? Coffee here is smooth, addictive, fragrant, good coffee that doesn’t need sugar. They use Fiori beans, not that I know what’s the difference but I hear it’s a GOOD THING. It’s not yet Velvet level, but it’s getting there, so good that after my first visit, I returned three times in two weeks.

But it isn’t really just about the coffee. The cakes. The mini yummylicious cakes disguised as muffins. This was the pineapple cake which was nice but not on par with my favourite. After staring at their sticky date puddings which are served in mugs and overflowing with caramel sauce, I couldn’t get the image out of my mind for days. We returned a couple of times only to find that the pudding was sold out, arrgh (btw, I did finally get to eat it and it was nice but just not as wow as I expected).

This is my favourite, the orange syrup cake. Anything orange I usually like. But this one cut the cake *pun intended*.

It was moist with hints of dessicated coconut and soft, and moist with marmaladey slightly sticky syrupy texture. Not too sweet, it’s one of my favourite cakes now. So good that I went searching for the recipe today and shall try it out in the near future. I’ve tried most of their cakes now, there’s the sinful chocolate cheesecake (so bad but so good) and the chocolate fudge cake, I just have to bring Calv and Xinlong here, they would love it.

I hesitate to give The Imp ratings because I’ve yet to try their tapas and grapevine has it that they’re really good. I will go one day, but they’re kinda on the pricey side for tiny dishes (as tapas in Perth are) so it’ll have to be a special night when I’m ready to splurge. BUT.. they do have an affordable breakfast menu as we discovered when we brought Jaso from Gero there last weekend.

Jason had the Spinach and Mushroom on Toast with mascarpone cheese ($9.50) which came in a big serving and was yummy. Baby spinach, mushrooms and mascarpone and really nice toast, fantastic combination.

Jo and HC shared the Hangover roll which was a toasted roll with an omelette made of tomatoes, jalapenos, tomato, spinach and a side of chutney ($11). It was really quite huge and I know Jo and HC really enjoyed their roll. I’m not sure I would eat it after a hangover though, usually I feel like throwing up at the sight of food.

The Imp is really one of those finds that you can’t wait to tell your other friends about, in fact, I told my coffee loving colleague A about it the next day. My ratings are only based on the breakfast, cakes and did I mention the delectable coffees? Is the weekend here yet? I’m ready for my coffee fix…

Daitaoha ratings:

Food: 7/10

Service :6/10 (a bit of a hit and miss depending on which waiter/waitress you get)


The Imp
863 Albany Highway
East Victoria Park
(08) 9361 2600

http://www.theimp.com.au

4 Responses to “The Imp”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk December 2, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Sounds like my kind of place. But your favourite cake actually looks really heavy, like it’s too dense from not being cooked properly.


  1. 1 Cranked « daitaoha Trackback on February 21, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages


