Project November wrap up

Today I helped my colleague hang up Christmas decorations around the office. My colleagues were amazed when I said I’d never hung Christmas decorations before except for the odd Christmas tree. So they insisted that I hang up the tinsel around the walls to get into the Christmas spirit, I secretly think they were just finding an excuse to make me do the work (=-____-=).

It’s almost the end of November and the end of 2009, amazing how time flies. Project November has been very successful so far, I think we have a budget surplus so I’m hoping to cook an extra special dinner on the 30 Nov, seafood and steak perhaps?

I think it started with rock sugar spareribs and tofu.

I revisited an old favourite of cabbage and fishball soup, so easy and comforting.

I had an idea of grilling chicken skewers. So bento lunch was Japanese chicken and leek yakitori, tamagoyaki and rice.

For dinner I made a Thai/Malaysian inspired chicken satay with cucumbers and rice. I quite liked my first attempt at the peanut satay sauce but I think I will try an authentic Malaysian recipe next time.

I’ve discovered these mee pok lookalike noodles at my local veg store and it even tastes like mee pok too. So this has been used in several variations of breakfast noodles. This version was just a simple dry noodles tossed with sesame oil and chilli which we had with soup.

My first attempt at Jansson’s Temptation, a Swedish anchovies, potato and onion baked casserole. The problem with cooking something you’ve never eaten before, you have no idea what the casserole is supposed to taste like! This one took some time to bake and was a bit too runny for my liking, but the potatoes came out light and tender.

For dessert I baked a upside down caramelised pear tart. I thought the tart was a bit too sweet for my liking even though I had already halved the sugar ingredients in the recipe, but with puff pastry it went pretty well and I’m sure it would be better with a scoop of vanilla icecream. Maybe next time.

Foochow mee sua which I cooked with rice wine, sesame oil and lots of ginger. Something we usually have during Chinese New Year and birthdays but I just felt like cooking it that day. Richard and HC liked this one because they’re both Foochow.

We had a few different versions of chicken wings this November because chicken wings were on sale, haha. Jo cooked Coca Cola wings, exciting or not? This one was baked sweet chilli and garlic wings, yummy.

My mum told me about cooking this dish and enticed me into cooking it as well, Nonya Ayam Pongteh which is cooked with gula melaka and yellow soy beans.

Ok, lots of cooking stuff, I promise to put up a restaurant review soon, I have so many I don’t know where to start!

7 Responses to “Project November wrap up”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk November 25, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    When it comes to CNY ask your colleagues whether they’ve springcleaned and hung up decorations for CNY before. Then if they say no you can get them to put up CNY decorations hahaha.

    Oh my god, you all eat such good meals everyday. You should see what we eat…… (-_-);;

  2. 3 Wendy November 26, 2009 at 4:11 am

    G’day, chef.

  3. 5 Jo November 26, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Hehehe! Jan, you fly over lah then we take turns cooking for you. Haha! What do you eat? You should post about it! Kiam hu and beansprouts? Do you say Wah Miang everytime you eat? hahaha.


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Pages


