Finally…. Perth Royal Show 2009

Perth Royal Show was so long ago that  back then, we actually wore thick jackets during the day. It’s one of those long photos overload posts that I kept putting off and putting off till it got to the point that I was making promises like ‘tonight I will blog about Perth Royal Show’ every other week. But of course I procrastinated and forgot about it (=^____^=)

So here goes, the long promised Perth Royal Show post.

It started bright and early with the guys gathering at my place to car pool to the Show.Notice all the jackets and scarves? It was a cool and cloudy day.

For some reason we always enter at Gate 10 where the kiddy rides are. Here’s MingSian and Bryan examining the Show map.

I always like to check out the baking display at the Show, this year there were some really nice creations. Edible Jimmy Choo shoes anyone?

One of the highlights of the Show is eating Show snacks like donuts and candy floss. Jo likes the frozen chocolate banana sticks, these were yummy.

A must-eat for us at the Show – sausage sticks. I forgot how much these sausages were, $1 for 2? Pretty cheap anyway so we bought loads and shared them around.

Here’s Jo posing with my bubble gun. I was very happy this year because I finally bought a bubble gun, every year I’ve stare in envy at the kids with bubble guns but can never bring myself to fork out the $10 price. Well I did it this year and spent the rest of the day annoying everyone by shooting bubbles in their face, even threatening to charge extra dollars for the ‘bubble effect’ in photos.I think everyone wanted to break my gun by the end of the day. In fact it did break (cheap China product) and I noticed no one was very sad except for me.

Jason and Wendy and their friends joined us and it was more sausage sticks around.

First group picture of the day. Some Australian teenage girls were so bemused with our ‘V’ poses that they asked whether they could take their picture with us.

And then we stepped into the Sideshow Alley also known as the ‘blood sucking money grabbing male conning’ gallery where the guys just lost control of their wallets and flung their cash at the games attendants ‘Take all my money! Con me into playing mindless games where I win nothing but hard giant stuffed toys!’ they yelled in enthusiasm.

It was game after game after game after game.

HC won Jo a toy!  Can you tell she was very happy?

Of course as the afternoon went by, Jo’s arms filled up with toy after toy after toy. She was delighted then but I think regrets cheering the guys on now that her room resembles a mini toy store.

Another first for me at the Show, sitting on this ride which I’ve wanted to for ages. Bryan bought me a ticket (thanks Brio!) and Richard accompanied me on the ride. It was soooo good, I felt like I was flying and the wind in my face was glorious. Jo was quite nervous for me though and thought I would fly off my seat.

Panda the photographer. This photo reminds me of Jan because she loves Pandas and loves taking photos.

Xinlong joined us and Jo showed off her loot. I think he was amazed at the sheer size of the duck.

Another group photo at the Greatest Show on Earth.

Then it started to turn dark and out came the neon glow thingys which I bought for everyone. I know that they all hung the glow sticks on their doors, cars etc after the show. Richard hung his dolphin in his car and it melted in the sun (T___T).

Dinner time! Some of the guys had the $10 lamb shank from the Lamb Van which looked good but was apparently tough and tasteless. I guess there’s a reason why it’s only $10.

My lamb roll with gravy which is what I have every year at the Show ( I don’t know why it’s just a tradition) was much better.

It started to drizzle but I had already told the guys to bring their umbrellas beforehand so we were pretty dry. Luckily the rain stopped just before the fireworks show and it was fireworks galore from then.

It was time to go home, the kiddy rides were all closed and it was quite surreal looking at the empty carousel.

So another year, another Perth Royal Show. Every year the show stays the same, but every year it feels different because we’re always going with a mix of old and new friends.  I know I had fun again this year, the bubble gun probably made a lot of difference (^_^)Y.

This is how we felt when we got home. Even the toys looked kinda tired.

2 Responses to “Finally…. Perth Royal Show 2009”


  1. 1 Jo November 21, 2009 at 8:50 am

    hehehe! next year we must go and win more loot! hahaha! maybe we can make jan come during perth royal show. she will love things like that.

  2. 2 slappedbygunk November 21, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Yah yah I want to go, it looks so fun!

    Haha so funny the way you described sideshow alley.


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Pages


