Four Seasons Roasting Duck Restaurant

The dinner at Four Seasons was probably a month back. So long ago that I don’t remember the prices or the names of the dishes, I remember that everything was quite affordable though, around the $18 – $22 price range. I’ve been talking about trying out Four Seasons for a long time, when it first opened, I went there for dimsum and wasn’t overly impressed. But then, the name kept cropping up in blog reviews, newspapers and articles, they were winning awards left and right,some even said that they had the best roast duck in town.

You know how I get when people start saying something is ‘the best’, the foodie flowers start floating and I started thinking ‘ was it only good in terms of Westerner’s version of Chinese food?'(since Aussies were raving about it) or was it actually really good? I just had to try it for myself.

First up was soup on the house, I think it was pork ribs soup, sweet and tasty. I always like the complimentary soups served at Chinese restaurants, I can’t seem to recreate the same comforting taste at home.

We had to order the roast duck at the ‘Roasting Duck’ restaurant. I am told that their Peking duck is one of the most awarded in town but we didn’t order that. The roast duck was really quite good, tender, juicy and moist. I think some of my foodie gang said they prefer the duck at Good Fortune (the other best roast duck in town restaurant) but I personally preferred Four Seasons roast duck.

Toothfish, probably my favourite fish besides salmon. This was was well done, crispy on the outside and tender juicy fish on the inside. But I think the sauce wasn’t flavourful enough and I would have preferred it pan friend instead of deep fried.

The healthy dish for the night, seafood tofu hot pot. I can’t remember whether this dish was any good, it definitely wasn’t bad and I love everything tofu.

The crispy chicken was surprisingly good, the skin was crispy thin and the chicken flesh was juicy and tender. I was actually quite impressed and thought ‘ok, maybe it’s really is good after all’.

Pork belly with yam, I expected this dish to be very oily and rich, but the flavours were surprisingly tasty but  light, not oily, the yam was soft and went really well with the tender pork belly. Since I have tons of pork belly at home, this is a recipe that I will try to recreate in the near future.

Overall we were impressed with Four Seasons and the food was a lot better than I expected it to be. The service while not impeccable was alright and passable. I thought to myself that I would return pretty soon.

BUT…. a couple of days later, I went into Four Seasons to takeaway some char siew and the service was atrocious, as in unforgivably rude and deserving of a walk out. I think Richard who was with me wanted to walk out immediately but only stayed because I was the one purchasing the char siew.

So now I’m having second thoughts about returning, maybe for the food, but the service… nah, I don’t think I could.

Daitaoha ratings:

Food: 7/10

7

Service :4/10 (I am averaging based on 1st and 2nd visit)

4 service ha

Four Seasons Roasting Duck Restaurant
Shop 8-9
375 William St
Northbridge 6003 WA
Phone: (08) 9228 9883

11 Responses to “Four Seasons Roasting Duck Restaurant”


  1. 1 Jan September 10, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Mmm pork belly with yam sounds good. I love yam.

    So what did they do the second time that was so bad? If the service is so terrible I’m inclined to never go back on principle regardless of whether the food is good. After all, they must not want any repeat business if they are treating their paying customers so badly. But then you know me and my principles, remember Scart? Hahaha.

    • 2 daitaoha September 11, 2009 at 12:34 pm

      ya i remember scart, haha.

      well the second time the uncle ignored me for a good 5 minutes even though the restaurant was empty and i was standing right in front of him. he just kept shouting orders to his waiters, then 5 mins later asked me what i wanted. then when i ordered $7.50 worth of char siew, the uncle chopping the char siew started muttering under his breath, ‘like that how to cut’ blah blah blah even though the last time it was the aunty who told me have to order minimum order of $7.50. then he heard wrongly and thought i wanted three strips of char siew and when i told him he was wrong, they started making sarcastic comments and muttering to each other unhappily.

      BADDDD service.

  2. 3 cynthia September 11, 2009 at 5:17 am

    they look yummy! i should try that next time
    i visit either HK BBQ or Hawker cuisine all the time.
    how boring aye? 😉

  3. 5 jaso September 11, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Is it really that good?

    i usually visit HK BBQ as well.

    if the service was that bad i would have left straight away- u pay for their service as well!

  4. 7 Ai September 11, 2009 at 11:02 am

    The fat people in the kitchen are so rude (They eat too much charsiew). Dine-in is probably ok but dont go towards those fat people…

  5. 9 Jo September 11, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Yalor, wat does it have to do with charsiew? now i am curious. reveal the secret, Ai. does char siew have some medical effect on people or something?

  6. 10 superbadkitty February 19, 2011 at 1:13 am

    Totally agree with you – they are unbelievably rude at the Four Seasons Roasting Duck. I was entertaining guests there once and when one of them opened a bottle of champagne, the cork flew right out and hit the ceiling. Although it left absolutely no mark on the ceiling, the owner came over and scolded my guest. I was outraged, but couldn’t walk out as I had a table full of people. Later, a group of people (non-customers) walked in and one of them needed to use the washroom and asked politely – but the same owner told them off and refused to let them use it. On another occasion, when I tried to take away some roast duck (thought I would go because there was lots of parking in the carpark area and none on William St). Again, I met with a different owner who was even more rude, who glared at me and ignored me. I walked out and that is the last time I set foot in that restaurant. What amazes me is that they are all Vietnamese (?). This has been quite common in my experience – the people at the 88 roast house place on William Street are Vietnamese as well and are extremely rude as well. At Vietnamese restaurants like Viet Hoa and the Melbourne Tra Vinh, they were ALSO terribly rude – waitresses were always glaring at me even after I have smiled at them (ick!). I just wonder why they are even in the hospitality business?! I now refuse to go to these restaurants now – no point in rewarding people for bad behaviour/attitude.

    Yet, there are exceptions with the Vietnamese food people in Northbridge. I went to the Golden Swan restaurant on William St once and met the Viet couple who owned it – they were the loveliest and most hospitable people I ever met in Perth… and the same goes with Liam, the ultra cool owner of the Lido restaurant on William St. His staff are also nice and I have not encountered bad service, rudeness or dirty looks from the staff at Lido like I have at the places mentioned above. It makes me want to go back to Lido often, and especially when they have a decent wine list – I think I ordered a bottle of Veuve Clicquot there some time back. It’s also one of the best Asian restaurants to go to in summer as the aircon is lovely and cool.

    • 11 daitaoha February 20, 2011 at 11:58 am

      I haven’t returned to four seasons since that last time. I think service at places like Viet Hoa and Tra Vinh are on a ‘fast eat fast go’ basis, so can’t expect much, it is definitely a lot better in Lido I agree.


Leave a Reply

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Pages


