Ligament King cooks lamb shank

A my colleague who is also my unofficial mentor at work brought me out for lunch on Tuesday for what he calls a ‘brain dumping’ session.

He is always raving about Zekka, the coffee shop hidden at the far end of King Street. When we walked down the very quiet alley, I realised it was a part of King Street that I’ve never been before. Zekka is also a men’s clothing store, so you don’t actually know it serves food and coffee till you walk down an ultra cool corridor.Everything aout Zekka is very cool and original, even the number plates for the tables are funky.

A’s leek soup which he says was very good.

My salad which had olives, red onion, cherry tomatoes, cucumber and parmesan shavings. It was very tasty but I couldn’t finish it because it was so huge.

The coffee was good, I’m not sure whether it’s the best that I’ve had, but I know I didn’t need any sugar in my coffee because it was already so fragrant and smooth. It’s a pity Zekka closes at 5 because I would love to go there for coffee on Saturday nights.

Last week I cooked Nestum chicken stir fried with curry leaves and chilli, I like the crunchiness of the nestum flakes with melted brown sugar. Tossed with blanched brocolli, it was my brocolli chicken salad lunch for work the next day.

Leftover rice was a good excuse to cook garlic fried rice. It was the first time I tried having shredded basil leaves in my fried rice and I think it worked quite well.

I received an sms from Ligament King a.k.a. Richard  at 5pm tonight saying ‘i’m cooking lamb shank, don’t cook dinner, this is experimental so you are the  white mouse today, ask Jo to stay home for dinner’. 5.30pm I received another msg ‘oops Diana, lamb shank totally failed. It is a disaster, forget what I said’. (o______o)”

But in the end, he came over with these beautifully presented dishes of lamb shank, veggies on the side and drizzled gravy. All we had to do was reheat the dishes in the microwave and it was good to go.

My verdict? I think he did very well for a first try (^___^). He first roasted the shanks then braised them, I asked him how he would describe the sauce and he said ‘ i dunno.. i created it myself’, haha, I think it was herbyand flavourful. Richard says he knows his mistakes now and he promises that I will have good lamb shanks by the end of the year (so long!).

Anyway, I was still really touched that he went to all that effort to cook such a difficult dinner for Jo and I, so thank you Rabbit, happy to be your white mouse anytime (=^__^=).

7 Responses to “Ligament King cooks lamb shank”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk August 27, 2009 at 12:02 am

    This Zekka place looks good!

  2. 3 Jo August 27, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Oooh, i think this zekka place makes the coffee look good. so pretty! Hehehe! richard did cook the lamb shank well as a first try. I enjoyed the lamb shank. thanks richard.

  3. 4 Richard August 27, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    It will be a lot better next time, Jo.
    I am happy you all like it.

  4. 6 Wendy August 28, 2009 at 4:43 am

    The coffee looks great. But I dont have time to try, so pity.
    Jason missed the lamb shank!


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages


