The first coffee of the weekend

My colleagues always shake their head in disbelief when I tell them that I only have coffee during the weekends ‘but coffee is good for you!’ they exclaim. I don’t quite know how to explain to them how by waiting till the weekend to have coffee, coffee doesn’t become just a daily habit, it becomes something to be savoured, something to look forward to.

This weekend, felt like the first sip of a hot, smooth, fragrant and frothy coffee on a Friday night. Sooo good.

It started on a late Thursday afternoon lunch at the revolving C restaurant. For those who have visited Jo’s blog, know that she loves the C restaurant  credit crunch lunch special for the month of August. Keen to try the food for myself, I arranged a working lunch with my friends. It was nice seeing everyone all togged up in their smart working gear, but in truth, the lunch wasn’t so enjoyable. The food took too long to come, Wendy and Jason had to miss dessert to rush back to work, I was on the edge of biting my nails while glancing at my watch every 5 minutes. And the food, was hit and miss. We tried everything on the menu though, and I brought my notebook, so lengthy post in the faraway future.

At night we met up again for late night window shopping in Carousel. It was a fun night, knowing that Friday was just around the corner lifted my spirits and lightened my steps.

And then it was FRIDAY. It was an unplanned dinner, but we decided to have a Chilli Mussels night similar to the one I had when Jan and Andy were in Perth. The menu, the famous Conca’s chilli mussels extra hot, Ciao Italia’s chilli mussels and home cooked pasta.

I also made garlic bread. The last time we had Conca’s chilli mussels when Jan and Andy were around, it wasn’t that hot. This time, the sauce was lip numbing smoking HOT. So spicy and hot that most of the guys had trouble swallowing the pasta. It was a tongue hanging ears smoking situation. Not really enjoyable.

I mean look at Calv in these photos, I couldn’t find a photo of him without his jaw gaping wide open, I swear, smoke was coming out of his mouth.

It was so spicy Ming Sian cried. (T______T). There were tears running down his cheeks and his face turned sooo red, it was like he was a fire engine. Xinlong joined us later in the night and was so tired. The poor guy is juggling 3 jobs right now and sleeps an average of 3 hours a day. I knew he was in a really bad situation when he didn’t enjoy his warm mud cake with icecream.

Saturday was unplanned but somehow we ended up at Xinlong’s place in the afternoon. It was a trip to Nedlands for some not-s0-good Vietnamese nosh but a nice first coffee of the weekend at Dome’s in South Perth. The carrot cake was pretty tasty too. What did we talk about? Maybe nothing but it was relaxing and chatty. Thinking the night was going to end early, a phonecall from Din Yaw changed our minds and they came over to my place for drinks.

Then the party trooped to Xinlong’s house and the night unravelled from there. Jo and HiengChiong came in past midnight and joined in the festivities. It was a night of lame IQ jokes, drunk philosophy from Gerry, beehoon cooking, leftover bak kut teh and a lot, a lot of red wine. Let’s just say I’m glad Richard was by my side most of the night, so thanks Rabbit(=^^=).

But Jo, Hieng Chiong, Richard and I still managed to wake up on Sunday morning for dimsum at Royal Seafood restaurant, which is now probably one of my favourite dimsum places in Perth. The dimsum was a bit salty but otherwise there was a wide range to choose from and the dimsum all had a little twist added to the norm. Good service helped too.

Window shopping at Harbourtown afterwards and visiting MingSian at his workplace. We managed to get a picture with him in his barista outfit too, hehe. Mingsian was too busy and I didn’t get to drink his coffee which is a pity because I always think they taste specially nice (bias lah).

The non stop activities for the weekend was getting to me and my energy level was low. I told the guys that I was planning to stay in for Sunday night and they all agreed to stay in too, suddenly, it was a homecook dinner situation and everyone was chipping in dishes.

Being lazy, my contribution was a non-fussed half boiled eggs with spring onion and ginger dressing.

Richard did the rest of the cooking, stir-fried kailan and steamed fish. And very nice steamed fish it was too, we swop recipes, I gave him my spring onion dressing and he told me his fish sauce. I also chopped up some leftover braised pork belly and char siew. Gerry made green bean soup for dessert which was nice and sweet.

It was a simple dinner with simple homecooked food, a perfect Sunday night ending to a fantastic, warm and fun weekend. It’s a hectic work week ahead, but the warm glow from the past weekend still lingers and I started Monday with a smile.

13 Responses to “The first coffee of the weekend”


  1. 1 Wendy August 25, 2009 at 4:24 am

    wah ah ah…
    full of enjoyment during the weekend

  2. 3 Rabbit August 25, 2009 at 7:08 am

    Who called me ???

  3. 5 Ri August 25, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Gerry’s dessert was so delicious that I swallowed the container by accident..
    Sorry, Gerry…

  4. 6 slappedbygunk August 25, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Coffee is good for you?

  5. 12 Jaso August 25, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Wow sounds like you had a fun weekend!

    i ended spending mines by clean my room…

    The cooking looks yummy!


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages


