The Grey Hoodie Boy Part 5 He asks for my number

I haven’t written any Grey Hoodie Boy posts lately because I hadn’t seen him at all for the past week and a half. Sigh. Yes, I know…

 Anyway, life moves on. The funny thing is even though Grey Hoodie boy was gradually fading from my mind, my friends and family were still very interested in him and wouldn’t let me forget him! For example, I was chatting to my Ah Ma  about my branch move  and she said something along the lines of ‘is the new building far away from Grey Hoodie boy’s building?’ *slaps forehead*

 This morning, my bus was so full that I was standing right up front with the bus driver. The bus slowed down in front of Grey Hoodie boy’s usual bus stop and I saw him, in his grey hoodie, hailing the bus. The bus driver gave him a wave and drove on, poor Grey Hoodie boy.

 Family, friends and colleagues who know about Grey Hoodie boy love this story, most of them tell me that if I meet him again, I should ask him out for coffee, or get his number. I am more of a realist and after not seeing him for the past week, thought that he was just an amusing anecdote and someone I would possibly not see or talk to again. 

 But today when I saw him at the bus stop, I couldn’t help smiling, what with the flu season and all, I was just relieved that he was ok and healthy.

 End of story? Not really. While waiting at the lights in front of my building, Grey Hoodie boy strolled up the street, saw me and walked over to say hi. We mentioned that we hadn’t seen each other for a while and he said his friend has been giving him a lift to work every morning but today he’s sick. I said ‘so now you have to take the bus like ordinary people’ and he laughed. He told me that his father is Indonesian and his mum is from Hongkong.

 We were crossing the road when he suddenly blurted out ‘Do you have Facebook?’ He pulled out his mobile and we stood in front of my building and he asked me for my number (actually he asked me whether I had a mobile which is quite funny because who doesn’t have a mobile nowadays).

 When I got into the office, he already miss called me (so I have his number) and sent me a text asking me to add him on Facebook (is facebook the new pick up line?). So what happens next? I’m sure he will start telling me about his wife and three kids soon.

 Pure coincidence, but I was wearing my grey hoodie jacket today 🙂

22 Responses to “The Grey Hoodie Boy Part 5 He asks for my number”


  1. 1 mum August 3, 2009 at 5:57 am

    wow! grey hoodie again!! doesn’t sound like he’s got a wife and 3 kids. so exciting, really made my day, di.

  2. 2 sakuratrees August 3, 2009 at 8:20 am

    wah ah ma we have to start planning for di’s wedding! Hehehe! so exciting. he definitely does not have a wife and 3 kids lah.

  3. 3 mum August 3, 2009 at 8:39 am

    that’s what i think too, jo. if he has a wife and kids, he wouldn’t be asking her for phone no right? unless he is a playboy, remember those in the tvb drama? those who work as gym instructors.

    • 4 slappedbygunk August 3, 2009 at 5:58 pm

      Hahahahahaha the gym instructors! He doesn’t sound like a gym instructor, otherwise Di would have talked about his biceps already. If anything he sounds like he works in IT.

  4. 6 mum August 3, 2009 at 8:40 am

    eh jo, did you see his dad is indonesian? maybe he’s the empek empek restaurant towkay leh. good ah, next time get to eat empek empek, your favourite, any time you like. haha.

    • 7 sakuratrees August 3, 2009 at 1:57 pm

      yalor yalor ah ma, he will not be asking for her number if he had a wife and kids! maybe he can make empek empek for me everyday! so exciting! this is just like tvb dramas, next they will be taking the bus together and talking on the phone and msn. hahaha. di, you must tell us how it progresses!

    • 9 slappedbygunk August 3, 2009 at 5:57 pm

      Ah ma, I doubt very much that his father is the empek empek guy. I’m sure that uncle had an Indonesian wife.

  5. 10 wendy August 3, 2009 at 10:19 am

    :)
    we are looking forward to see what is going on next.

  6. 11 di August 3, 2009 at 10:57 am

    after reading these comments I can only conclude that my friends and family really want me to get a boyfriend!

    NOTHING is going to happen lah.

  7. 14 M August 3, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I’m going to comment before reading the post and the comments.

    OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG!

    ok back to the post now 🙂

  8. 15 M August 3, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    chapter 5 of the GHB story is just as good as I imagined it 🙂

    Facebook can reveal so much about a person, often the best thing about meeting people is finding out things about the other person over time. Facebook has totally made that experience so detached. Once you invite someone to be friends on facebook, you invite them into a lot your personal life in an untimely manner. Meeting someone with mutual unknowns is part of all the fun! Of course, there is nothing wrong with adding new friends immediately on facebook if that how you like to make friends. But why spoil the fun and charm of making friends and getting to know someone the old school way?

    OK, so what happens if he adds you on facebook?
    Will your account have a link to this blog?
    If so, does that mean GHB finds out about these posts and more?
    What will you do?
    How was Alfred’s? :p

    so many questions… haha

    Something for you to think about: Maybe you can decide what what happens next after your next encounter with GHB

    “Every action has an equal and opposite reaction.”

    • 16 di August 3, 2009 at 12:39 pm

      wow so many questions. no my facebook account does not link to this blog at all, i would just die if he read this blog. i don’t think he would find out much about me on fb because i hardly go on!

      i agree there’s something special about getting to know someone the old school way, of actually speaking face to face instead of online.

      Alfred’s was pretty cool, I’ll blog about it soon 🙂

  9. 17 Her August 3, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Di, I am still grinning from ear to ear…I guess we all more excited than U but admit it U were jumping for joy right when he asked for ur no. and facebook ac… 🙂

    Hmm..Indonesian Dad..interesting 🙂

    • 18 daitaoha August 4, 2009 at 9:34 am

      I wasn’t jumping for joy actually, just a bit surprised. Yes, he’s Indonesian Chinese, I asked him whether he speaks Chinese and he said ‘yi dien dien’

  10. 19 slappedbygunk August 3, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    I NEARLY HAD A HEART ATTACK when I read the subtitle to your post “He asks for my number”!!!!!!

    Well if you add him to your Facebook may I add him to my Facebook so I can spy? Hahaha. I’m guessing you’re going to say “No”……..

    Oh my god he sounds really sweet actually, ESP the “Do you have a mobile” question. I mean, how endearing that he wanted to ask for your number but obviously didn’t want to come right out with the “May I have your number” question straight off.

    Aww. I like the sound of him already! I’M VERY EXCITED *______________*

  11. 21 rita :) August 4, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    oh, wow! how did i miss your “grey hoodie boy” post? i *have* to look for that and catch-up. this is what happens when life gets in the way. i miss all the exciting stuff. oi… anyhoodles, that’s such a sweet continuation of your saga. do keep us all in the loop!!

  12. 22 slappedbygunk August 4, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Diana Diana Diana, as if you don’t know by now that I’m always right….. hahaha! My powers of deduction are really good you know.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages


