Chicken in white wine cream sauce pasta

Ingredients (serves 2)

2 boneless chicken breasts
1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
1/2 cup chopped onions
3 slices ham/bacon chopped (optional)
2 tablespoon heavy cream
1 cup white wine (or just enough to cover half the chicken)
flour seasoned with dried tarragon, salt and pepper
olive oil/butter

Method:

  1. Dredge chicken in the seasoned flour. Add olive oil or butter to pan.
  2. Brown chicken in pan till light brown on both sides.
  3. Then add the mushrooms, onions, ham and fry till onions are soft and translucent. Add wine. Simmer covered on low heat until chicken is done, around 20 minutes.
  4. Remove chicken from frying pan, leaving onion and mushrooms. Shake 1 tablespoons flour and the heavy cream into pan. Stir into the drippings in the frying pan. Flavor with tarragon according to your taste.
  5. Cook until sauce thickens. Pour over chicken and serve. Garnish with additional herbs of your liking.

This was one of the first western dishes I learned to cook back in my uni days. I used to serve it with roasted potato wedges but nowadays I usually cook up some fettucine or spaghetti and add it to the chicken for a cream based pasta.

It was another horrendous day at work today, so bad that my colleagues were really angry on my behalf, still, I felt comforted that at least my own teammates were so supportive. Sigh, if only people could be professional and  not shoot the messenger.

On the bright side, on the way to work and back from work, I saw full arch rainbows in the sky! So pretty, I love rainbows…. I was too greedy and made so many wishes that now I think none of them will come true (T____T).

Gerry has returned from his Brisbane/Melbourne trip and he bought me a present again! Another cookbook, this time it was a Thai/Malaysian food cookbook which I really really like. Thank you Gerry!I actually read this book a couple of years ago in Borders, back then (actually now still the same) I couldn’t bear to fork out money for cookbooks and would go to Borders, sit there with my favourite Irish Nut Creme coffee and try to memorise these recipes. Cheapskate or what?! But it was actually very fun lah.

Ok, FINALLY it’s Friday, I don’t expect a good day at work tomorrow, but maybe with such low expectations, things might turn out alright? *fingers crossed*

2 Responses to “Chicken in white wine cream sauce pasta”


  1. 1 mum July 16, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    Gerry is so nice. tell him i also like recipe books. hehe.

  2. 2 slappedbygunk July 16, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Why, what’s happening at work?

    I do that too leh, memorise recipes in bookshops! Haha. Once I even brought post-it and copied down the entire recipe in short form. Real cheapskate.


Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages


