The Grey hoodie boy Part 1 I fall

You know how sometimes when life becomes routine, you start noticing the same patch of sky, staring at the same city icon and doing the same things day after day.

I’ve been taking the same bus to work for the past year, and after a while, started recognizing fellow passengers who take the same bus as me. There’s the loving (and a bit gross) couple that always share a seat. The mother and daughter who are very sweet to each other. And then there’s that one Chinese guy who I started noticing because he wears the same grey hoodie to work everyday. One day he actually wore a different coat (but still grey) and I thought ‘hmm must be really cold today’. Anyway, this boy on the bus became part of my routine, something constant that is always on the horizon.

Sometimes he isn’t on my bus for a few days and I think he must be sick or waking up late. Sometimes I see him running after the bus (quite often) and wonder whether he can make it. It’s funny how you can build up stories about someone you don’t know, a mere passerby. This boy never smiles and always looks fierce. Once he was sitting in front of me and looked really stressed out, he covered his head with his hands and sighed and I thought ‘must be a bad day at work ahead’. Another time he met a friend at the traffic lights (we get out at the same stop) and it was probably the only time I’ve seen him smile.

Anyway, I hadn’t seen him on my bus since Monday this week but today, he started running after the bus again. Grey hoodie again. When we were getting off the bus, he was nice enough to let me go first and while waiting at the lights, I thought to myself ‘someday I’ll blog about this grey hoodie boy’, the lights turned green and I stepped onto the sidewalk. And fell.

(T___________________________T)

Yes, I fell on the sidewalk. In hindsight I’m lucky it wasn’t the middle of road. Someone held out a hand and helped me up, I looked up and it was the grey hoodie boy!!!

(T__________________________________________T)

Sounds very romantic and something out of tvb dramas right? BUT I WAS MORTIFIED!!!!! This always happen to me (family and close friends can testify)! I fall in front of famous icons (San Francisco’s Golden Gate Bridge), fall off swings (Santubong beach resort), only recently, I’ve been slipping along the aisles of supermarkets. But this is a new one. Falling in front of the traffic lights on St Georges Terrace *slaps forehead*

Anyway, back to the story. My hands were smarting terribly and I checked them at the other side of the road. Grey hoodie boy stood with me and asked ‘are you bleeding?’ I told him no, I was ok, mumbled sorry and quickly walked up the road towards my office while slowly dying of embarrassment inside.

The brisk walk was good for me, by the time I reached the traffic lights in front of my building, I was starting to laugh at the whole incident, then I saw the grey hoodie boy standing not far from me. Which is quite odd because he usually catches another bus earlier down the road to get to West Perth? Anyway, I thought I had better thank him properly so I walked up to him and said thank you. Which made me paiseh all over again.

( =__________________=)

Sigh, why am I like that ah? I hope he’s not on the bus tomorrow.

10 Responses to “The Grey hoodie boy Part 1 I fall”


  1. 1 mum July 15, 2009 at 3:09 am

    oh my god, this is so funny!!! you haven’t changed at all !! haha, the reminder of the santubong incident made me laugh so much, but you forgot to mention the pinnochio song staircase incident.

  2. 2 daitaoha July 15, 2009 at 9:49 am

    ah ma you are not sympathetic at all! I knew you would get a good laugh out of it and even told my colleagues ‘my mum will love this story. Btw, I am trying to forget the pinnochio incident ok.

  3. 3 Jo July 15, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Wah! So romantic ah, just like tvb dramas! Hahahaha! Maybe he will come over to you tomorrow and ask you whether you are ok and then start talking to you and then you both end up sitting together on the bus! Hahaha!

  4. 4 mum July 15, 2009 at 10:20 am

    it’s not that i am not sympathetic, it’s just that i feel happy you haven’t changed at all, still the lovely, not so agile, familiar ah di we all know at home. hmm, drama queen, you think di is myolie or bernice or that girl from the abalone show is it?

  5. 5 mum July 15, 2009 at 10:22 am

    ya, and then the bus will have another lovely (and a bit gross) couple who always share a seat. haha.

  6. 7 slappedbygunk July 15, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    You forgot to share one very important detail: IS HE GOODLOOKING???

    Anyway grey hoodie boy sounds like a nice guy.

    And yah, I knew Ah Ma would get big laughs out of this story hahaha. I must say this is my favourite blog post yet hehe. What a lovely story. Imagine if you get married to Grey Hoodie, you can write this lovely little story in manuscript in your wedding invitations! You know, to share your romantic story with your guests………

  7. 8 slappedbygunk July 15, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Andy suggests catching an earlier bus. Hahaha.

  8. 9 di July 16, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    I did take the earlier bus today and he was not on it! Hahaha.

    You are just like my colleague, when I told her, the first thing she said was ‘so is he cute?’ and i said ‘that’s not the point!’ so she said ‘that means he MUST be cute!’

    • 10 slappedbygunk July 16, 2009 at 7:24 pm

      So……… IS HE?!?! Quick lah, say whether he’s goodlooking or not. I won’t rest until I get an answer ok so if you don’t answer I am going to ask the same question in comments to all your most recent entries hahahahahaha.


Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages


