Gill’s belated birthday party

I’m still working my way towards the end of my last weekend posts, but there’s still more to come. How did I manage to squeeze all these activities into 3 days I wonder?

Anyway, last Friday we attended Gill’s belated birthday party. We actually already celebrated Gill’s birthday in early May, but she wanted to hold her birthday party in July because her sister would be back from holidays then and also Jason would be around.

Instead of a dinner party, she decided to have a karaoke night at Utopia. Since Gill was asking for contributions, I decided to go all out and prepare party food for her.  I offered to cater for H and Jason, so they paid me money for the ingredients. It was my first attempt at party food preparation.

First up, Jo’s agar-agar which was her contribution for the night. She made this all by herself the night before.

Jo’s agar agar had three layers with the coconut milk layer at the bottom. Pretty or not? They tasted really nice as well, pandan and coconut milk flavoured agar agar.

The cold meat deli platter that I prepared for H’s contribution, included honey leg ham, smoked leg ham and chicken slices.

My cheese platter with slices of gouda cheese and garlic bagel crisps.

My sandwich tray with egg salad sandwiches, chicken, tomato and lettuce sandwiches and chicken avocado sandwiches. I love my new trays which are brightly coloured and long and best of all, only cost $2! I love the $2 shop near my house, I believe it was my mum’s favourite  when she visited Perth as well, haha. Family of cheapskates.

The mini hotdogs which I prepared for Jaso. I used Woolies bake at home buffet rolls, cocktail sausages and topped the hotdogs with lettuce, tonkatsu sauce, mayo and seaweed strips. A sort of Japanese inspired hotdog.

Tomato and basil bruschetta and smoked salmon with cream cheese and dill bruschetta. Instead of using bread, I cheated and used bruschetta crisps instead. I think they would have tasted much better with the real thing, but I really didn’t have time to bake them in the oven. Not that they would have been toasty by the time the party started though, even the bruschetta crisps were quite soft and the cream cheese had harden slightly by then.

My favourite for the night was the marcapone cheese (the stuff that is in tiramisus) and strawberry bruschetta which I drizzled with honey. A dessert version of bruschetta instead of savoury bruschetta.

And now the people! Jo, XianZhang and Chris who is Jo’s colleague at Northshore. It was my first time meeting Chris and he’s very nice and friendly. He was quite tired at the end of the night because we kept making him sing.

Blurry pic of the birthday girl. Tricia, Gill’s best gf bought her the princess hat thingy which I thought looked really cute on her.

Gill’s birthday cake from Utopia which was like a mountain of profiteroles or should I say mini cream puffs. A bit hard to cut because of all the profiteroles, in the end it was like everyone had a profiterole each.

I like this photo of Gill making a wish because I think she looks very pretty in the soft glow of the candlelight. Ok, end of post! Thanks for inviting us Gill, we had lots of fun. Are you sure you don’t want to have another party next year?

5 Responses to “Gill’s belated birthday party”


  1. 1 Jo July 15, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Er..my agar agar was supposed to have four layers, red, green, transparent and the one with coconut milk. hehehe!

  2. 2 Jo July 15, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    I mean it has four layers, just that the transparent layer did not stick too well, so it kept falling off so some agar agar had three layers and some had four.

  3. 3 mum July 15, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Gill looks like a Miss Hk with that princess hat on. Esp the photo where she was making her birthday wish.
    And,the Aud2 shop is not my favourite shop in Perth, i only liked the stickers from there. Don’t keep mentioning me when you talk about your favourite cheapskate eateries or shops.

  4. 4 di July 15, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    haha don’t pretend lah, you actually like Taka!! You peng you leng.

  5. 5 slappedbygunk July 15, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    All the party food looks really good, especially the mini hot dogs and bruschettas. Okay lah I’m sure Jo will read this also so the agar agar also looks lovely, very refreshing. Hehehe.

    Gil looks so pretty in the pics!


Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages


