Brunch @ Coode Street Cafe

Even though we only left Xinlong’s place at 4am, we still managed to make it in time for brunch at Coode Street Cafe. It was also the first meet up with Jason after more than a month. Sigh, Jas will be leaving this Saturday, another 2 months before we see him again.

Coode Street Cafe is located at the corner of a quiet residential street, you end up driving past little houses  and leafy trees thinking ‘am I lost?’. Then you notice cars lining the street, the buzzing crowd and the full tables and you’ve reached the cafe. Great and relaxing atmosphere for a good breakfast.

Coode Street Cafe has nice coffees! Lately I’ve developed a liking for good coffee, there’s something really nice about spooning up smooth, velvety milky froth and drinking hot fragrant coffee. Unlike my Aussie colleagues, I don’t feel the need for a daily coffee fix (my manager drinks 3 a day!) but I do enjoy having a really nice coffee during the weekends.

I already knew what I was going to order before I went to the cafe. Jo and I shared the popular ‘grilled peaches with fresh ricotta served on fig and fennel toast’ ($11), the grilled peaches were topped with big strawberries served on top of fig filled toast, it was beautiful and really scrumptious. Great combination which makes me want to try Jamie Oliver’s grilled peach salad recipe.

A close up of the grilled peaches breakfast.

This is Jason’s ‘artistic’ shot of the peaches and toast. Nice or not?

H’s egg benedict with ham  on toast, he said it was really nice. The poached eggs were good and the yolks burst at the prick of a fork.

Jo and XianZhang shared the giant ‘Who needs lunch?’ big breakfast ($18) with bacon, eggs (Xianzhang chose to have his eggs scrambled), chipolatas, tomatoes and mushroom served with toast. Everything was really tasty, Jo said she never had such nice bacon before and I tried the chipolatas and mushroom, very yummy!

Look at happy Xianzhang digging into his breaktast. Coode Street cafe was a really fantastic find and one of my favourite breakfast places now. I can’t wait to return!

p.s Entertainment card voucher gives 25% off the whole meal!

Daitaoha ratings:

Food: 7/10

7

Service 6/10

6 service

Coode Street Cafe

24 Coode Street (cnr Third Avenue)

Mt Lawley

Tel: 9371 9900

6 Responses to “Brunch @ Coode Street Cafe”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk July 14, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    Why didn’t you bring me here?!?

    • 2 di July 15, 2009 at 10:46 am

      Jan I think I did tell you about it, but then you guys ended up going to beaufort merchant instead. Plus it was my first visit there, wasn’t sure it was really good.

  2. 3 Jo July 15, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Hehehe! The food was so good leh, ah net! Next time we must make it a point to bring you! Xian zhang’s breakfast was so yummy! I had half of it.

  3. 4 slappedbygunk July 15, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Aiyah I want to go!!!

  4. 5 di July 16, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    next time bring you


  1. 1 Thursday Frozen Peaches of Perfection Trackback on July 30, 2009 at 9:32 am

Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages


