Peaceful weekend

It was a quiet weekend of discovering old favourites.

Old favourite lamb nasi briyani from Insan’s Cafe. Haven’t visited this cafe since Asrul left, he will be happy to know that the lamb is still tender and flavourful.

Window shopping in the city. Thought of Andy when I saw this new transformers display, Jan, does Andy want a Transformer hoodie?

Good Fortune is doingΒ  a whole roast duck for $15 deal from 5 – 6pm every Thursday. Anyone want to share duck?

My favourite Bin bin rice crackers are now available in Perth, I thought it was myth! Now Hieng Chiong won’t have to send them over from Kuching (^__^), now if only kolo mee was available in Perth.

I had a craving to cook up a storm in the kitchen this weekend. I was actually thinking of cooking Malaysian curry chicken but was too late for the butchers. So I made do with wrapping prawn wontons.

Prawn wontons with my favourite spring onion, ginger and vinegar dressing. This will also be lunch tomorrow.

Spurred by my friend Shirley’s announcement that she was flying to Kuching for our dear friends Linglang and Fung’s wedding, I had another look at flight prices and was amazed at the cheap prices. Immediately I dismissed important matters such as obtaining leave approval or spending most of the weekend in the airport, in my mind, I was already chomping down smooth, fragrant and tender Hainan chicken rice, window shopping in Orchard Road, walking in Kenyalang, spending precious hours with my parents and brother , chatting away with Shirley,YW and most importantly, witnessing LL and Fung walking down the wedding aisle.

Then the words ‘airport tax’ appeared on the screen and brought me crashing down to reality. SIGHHHHHHHH. (T________T). Maybe I’ll win the $90 million lotto this Tuesday. Really, I’m not greedy, $1 million will do.

7 Responses to “Peaceful weekend”


  1. 1 Jan June 28, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    All the food looks so good! Very hungry. I am going on my health kick starting today.

    Oh so nice, you thought of Andy whilst window shopping hehe. I asked him about the Transformers hoodies, he said he might want a black one but we can’t see the pattern of the black one properly from the photo. Have you got another photo or a link we can look at?

  2. 2 di June 29, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    hmm i don’t have a better photo, but i will take the next time i go into jay jays which should be too far away, will probably go into the city for lunch tomorrow.

  3. 3 Her June 29, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Your wrapped prawn noodle looks so delicious πŸ™‚ maybe I shld do that this weekend πŸ™‚

    HAizz..for a sec there, i thought u really coming πŸ™‚ I’ll make ur “Hainan chicken rice” dream come true πŸ˜‰

    • 4 di June 30, 2009 at 5:50 pm

      i was still thinking about it on monday, then my mum told me that lots of arrivals from australia are getting quarantined for a week in malaysia, so there goes my kuching trip. so sad.

  4. 5 Fern July 25, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Where in Perth did you find the Bin Bin Rice Crackers? How much were they? I totally love these too and have been looking for them in Perth!

    • 6 daitaoha July 26, 2009 at 11:45 am

      It’s sold at Shop 88, the chinese grocery along William Street Northbridge (right next to Good Fortune restaurant), they only sell it from time to time, I visited today and there were none, so maybe try asking the owner when they’re bringing it in again? Let me know if they have it in stock, I’ll go get some too!

      • 7 Fern May 20, 2012 at 7:06 am

        I have seen some in Chan Brother’s along Leach Highway in Myaree as well but that was awhile back! When I went to get some the other time, there were none. 😦


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


