The Left Bank @ Fremantle

While blogging about our Freo day out yesterday, I realised that I’ve yet to blog about the Freo food laden day that we had when Jan and Andy were in town. I’ll wait till I’m given the ok to put up their funny photos, but first, I want to blog about our dinner that night at The Left Bank. Even though it was quite some time ago, I think the Left Bank is deserving of a review, so Jan and Jo, try to help out with the description of the food hor!

One of the must trys for Jan and Andy in Perth was the seafood in Perth. Therefore, I did a bit of research and came up with the usual suspects such as Kailis Brothers, Bluewater Grill, Red Herring etc. I even downloaded the menus in advance to peruse the menu items. In the end, I decided on The Left Bank because

  1. both H and I had entertainment cards which gave us a great one main course get another main free deal (which meant we could get 4 mains and only pay for 2! This deal is still on for the 09/10 card*looks at Jason and Wendy*
  2. great reviews
  3. nice views and conveniently located in Fremantle

The Left Bank boasts a pictureque location right by the Swan River, the ground level of the historical building houses the cafe which hosts gigs and has a more casual feel. A stairway leads to the upper level of the restaurant which has a more formal candlelit setting. Even though we were quite early, the cafe was already doing a roaring business with lots of noisy chatter and Friday night after work drinks. It was quite amazing that the noise level did not reach the restaurant level at all and it was peaceful and quiet upstairs.

Before I start on the food, I should mention that most of these nice photos are taken by Jan with her DSLR, it makes me want to get a DSLR too, but I doubt I could take such nice pictures anyway.

First main was the rump (or was it sirloin steak?) steak with pancetta and leek potato cake, tomatoes, asparagus and red wine glaze ($36.00). We asked for the steak to be medium rare but it came out more medium. Otherwise, the steak was delicious and everything else tasted good too.

The star of the night was the seafood platters (we ordered two!) which came with oysters, smoked salmon, prawns, a bowl of chilli mussels, calamari and barramundi fillets ($39.50 for a seafood platter for one).  Probably one of the best and most affordable seafood platters I’ve had in Perth, the oysters were very fresh, the prawns sweet, and the chilli mussel sauce while not spicy, was drinkable good. I think the calamari was probably our least favourite of the lot, but the fish.. the fish was very very good. This is taking into account that we just had fish and chips at Cicerellos in the afternoon. Beautifully batterd, a wonderful fragrance of good olive oil, the barramundi fillets were great.

We were wanting something different and not overly heavy so opted for the Coconut King Prawns (usually an entree) for our other main. The prawns came with mango chutney and a tomato, cucumber and peanut salad ($31.00). It was actually a good choice because the prawns were not heavy with a slight coconuty taste and the salad was very light and refreshing. Nice.

We were really quite full and wondering whether to skip dessert. But there’s always a different stomach for desserts so we shared an orange creme brulee (can’t really remember the name). The brulee wasn’t fantastic but I always like custardy brulee texture so I still liked it.

Overall I was glad I chose The Left Bank, I’m not sure we would have enjoyed ourselves if we were in an overly posh and super expensive restaurant, the Left Bank offers an in between setting, great and affordable seafood. I definitely want to return for their Wednesday ‘buy a seafood platter for two (usually $67.0) but pay for a seafood platter for one ($39.50)’ deal (cafe only). Anyone want to go?

Daitaoha ratings:

Food 7/10

Service 6.5/10 daitaohas

p.s I’ve adopted Jan’s suggested and changed my rating system to 10 daitaohas instead.

The Left Bank Restaurant
15 Riverside Road
East Fremantle 6158
Tel: 9319 1315


9 Responses to “The Left Bank @ Fremantle”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk June 22, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    All I remember is that the fish in the seafood platter was really really good. And I don’t even like fish! Also, it’s at this restaurant that I realised I was very very sick of chips!!!

    I personally would have given this restaurant a 6.5 out of 10 though. Not that it was bad, but it was largely unremarkable. Also, let’s say I give Manise a 9.5, 7.5 and 9.5 sound quite close right? And this place was definitely not even close to Manise’s standard. Now Edgecombe Brothers, I would have awarded them an 8. And I don’t think I enjoyed Left Bank so much that I would say they’re only a half mark less enjoyable than Edgecombe. Does that make sense? Hahaha, I’m obviously taking this rating thing verrrry seriously hehehe.

    • 2 daitaoha June 23, 2009 at 10:37 am

      ok, i’ve scaled it down to 7 and given edgecombe a 8.5.I think a 7 is a recommended rating. Besides, it’s really one of the better and most affordable seafood platters I’ve had in Perth, the rest have little portions and go for $60 – 70 per platter, so in terms of affordability, it’s a 7. You are such a tough judge!

      • 3 slappedbygunk June 23, 2009 at 5:36 pm

        Eh food leh, of course I’m a tough judge lah hahaha. Okay I think a 7 is fair for Left Bank. Perhaps my 6.5 was too harsh.

  2. 4 slappedbygunk June 22, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Btw which funnny photos?

  3. 7 sakuratrees June 23, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I remember not really liking the coconut prawns but I certainly enjoyed the steak and the seafood platter. Wasn’t there scallop on the seafood platter? I thought I ate a scallop here. I really liked the mussels though. It was a good dinner.

    Ya, I think it will be easier to rate it on a scale of 10 right? Manise definitely deserves a 10, nothing can beat it! Yum!

  4. 8 wendy June 23, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Thank you Diana.
    I’m scare of the chips.
    I like the steak and the desert.
    But very good deal.
    ps, the little prawn picture is cute.


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


