A Week of My Life: Day 7 Sunday

I can’t believe it’s the last of A Week of My Life posts.

Day 7 was a Fremantle (Freo) day. For those that haven’t been to Perth, Fremantle is a port city in Perth famous for its fishing boat harbour, markets and the popular fish and chips.

Most of the group were the same bunch from the night before, but this time the brothers, Calv and Eugene came along as well. It was a big group!

All tourists go to Freo for their fish and chips, but we were there for the yummy ramen. There is a tiny Japanese (as in can only seat 10 people max kind of tiny) ramen stall inside the Fremantle market. I think I discovered the ramen 2 to 3 years back and introduced it to my friends. Word of the good ramen must have spread because the once quiet stall is now so bustling with business that we were told it was a ONE HOUR wait for our bowls of ramen. Still, the rest of the guys were happy to wait so we put in our orders and proceeded to walk around the market.

There was an amazing buttery smell pervading the narrow halls of the markets and we finally found the culprit, freshly popped sweet popcorn. We tried some and it tasted like the sweet popcorn that we get in the cinemas in Malaysia, only even more buttery. I was tempted to buy a box but  somehow I associate popcorn with movies, it just didn’t feel right to eat popcorn without watching something on screen. I wish they sold sweet popcorn in Perth cinemas, instead we get lousy dry and salty popcorn (T___T).

I wanted to get these cool wooden electric guitar models for my father. But was a bit shy to ask ‘do you have Deep Purple’s lead guitarist’s guitar?’

Pretty colourful Japanese lanterns.

I like the fresh fruit and veg section of the market, I know people must think I’m apple mad, but really, these organic apples looked so beautiful, I’d never seen such pretty apples before, instead of the usual glossy and shiny red and yellows, the apples were dusty pink and rosy red. I’m sure they must taste good.

It was 3pm (we got to Freo close to 2pm) before the guys finally sat down for their noodles, they were positively starving. From left to right, Jason, Ming Xian, Richard and Eugene. Amazingly they were all classmates or schoolmates at some point in high school, I guess high school mates are really friends for life eh?

The other side of the bench was Wendy and the two brothers, Xinlong and Xinchen.

Calv’s fried chicken soy based ramen.

Almost everyone had the soft pork ramen with the tender fat and lean pork slices, so much for swine flu. Since I didn’t have any ramen, I was told the broth wasn’t as flavourful as usual, but still pretty good. Some of the guys drained the broth to the last drop.

My tako balls which were quite nice, but I wish they had aanori on them. They came out piping hot so I have a bit of a sore throat now. To tell the truth, I was quite disappointed with the ramen stall, maybe they’re not coping with the added load of customers, but an hour for a ramen is really too much, plus their cashier was getting stressed out and shooing people out of the shop quite rudely.It’s still the best ramen in Perth so far, but I’m not sure I would be so eager to return again.

Back outside, it was sunny but still chilly. The weather forecast says that it’s a minimum of 2 degrees tomorrow, I can already picture myself shivering and blowing out puffs of frosty air at the bus stop in the morning.

We should have been cradling cups of hot chocolate, but instead we stopped by the Little Creatures brewery for some beer. In my case, it was their cider with a cute name Pipsqueak, it tasted a bit like champagne and was light and bubbly. I couldn’t finish my midi (is it called midi?) and passed it on to Xinlong.

Even though we had such a late lunch, the guys were hungry again! So we went next door for … fish and chips. I opted to sit out but snapped a photo of Min Xian’s seafood chowder which looked warm and creamy, with a hunk of bread, it seemed like a great choice for winter. Jan, don’t you think it looks different from the seafood chowder you had last time? But it’s from the same restaurant!

Ta-dah! The end of Day 7 and thus concluding my A Week of My Life posts. It actually turned out a lot more fun than I thought and I had fun sharing my week with my friends and especially my family. It was even nicer reading and commenting on my sisters’ and Heri’s posts, I felt like for a brief week, I shared a bit of their lives. So thanks for the suggestion Jan, I think it was a fantastic idea. Let’s do it again next year!

13 Responses to “A Week of My Life: Day 7 Sunday”


  1. 1 sakuratrees June 21, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Wah! So exciting to see Xian Zhang’s housemates! Hahaha!
    Everytime I see the guitars, I think of Ah Pa and Ah Yao. I wonder if we should get them one. Hehehe! The japanese lanterns are so pretty, really like that pic. Which part of the market are they at? The kite one?

    Wah, they can sure eat alot! Ramen then seafood. Wah! The seafood is huge woh. They shared har? Not fair lah, you had such a nice day while I was slaving at work. Hmph!

    • 2 daitaoha June 22, 2009 at 11:21 am

      I think maybe can buy for Ah Pa, but not sure which guitar he prefers. I’m not sure Darren is into stuff like that though. If you keep walking down from the ramen stall, the lantern shop is right at the end, but the stuff are all so overpriced.

      I was quite tired actually, I think the beer made me sleepy (-___-).

  2. 3 Her June 21, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    Di, I think the group pict would be a lot nicer with u in it :)Haven’t seen U and Jan’s face this whole week 🙂

    I love looking at those miniature guitars!! I love miniatures 🙂

    My friend(an organic devotee) told me that apple is ranked top three in fruits-with-most-pesticide list (the other two were strawberry & peach.) So I think U shld turn to organic apple if the price is not much of a difference (since u eat a lot of it) U reckon? 🙂

    The ramen looks good yah..but I wont want to wait an hour for it after ur review 🙂

    OOoo..I have tried the little creatures beer before..it would be so fun to go to the brewery to drink it 🙂

    • 4 daitaoha June 22, 2009 at 11:19 am

      Hmm I don’t know the price difference for organic apples, but then they’re not available readily, I would have to go to Freo (which is pretty far from my house) every weekend to stock up. I guess I’ll have to wash my $1 a bag apples more often.

      Err, I am camera shy lah, I always refuse to take photos when I’m out and about, instead preferring to be the photographer. Maybe someday if I password protect my posts I will post up pictures of myself. Meanwhile, you can picture a chubby panda. Haha.

  3. 5 slappedbygunk June 21, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Wow one hour wait, craziness. The ramen wasn’t THAT good. We definitely must go to Japan in April next year, then I’ll bring you for really good ramen.

    Mmm Pipsqueak sounds good! I like champagne.

    Yah the chowder doesn’t look much like mine! I swear mine didn’t have mussels. Did you go Cicerellos?

    • 6 daitaoha June 22, 2009 at 11:16 am

      Yes, we went to Cicerellos, which is why I was thinking ‘eh, how come looks so different from Jan’s seafood chowder?’ Maybe they had a better more generous cook.
      I can only imagine how good the ramen is in Japan, and I bet they’re a lot more efficient too.

  4. 7 jason June 22, 2009 at 12:42 am

    nice post. 1st time comment here though hv been followin this blog for a while.

  5. 10 Jaso June 22, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Wow!

    sounds like an overall good wk for u! Really liked u writing about a week in your life!

    Can’t wait to come back to Perth now!! If i wrote about my week in Gero it would have been so boring- it will only be about going to school, going home to planning then sleep x5

    glad someone had a more interesting week then me!!

    • 11 daitaoha June 22, 2009 at 11:15 am

      Har? I feel this week has been quite boring for me, with the exception of weekends of course, but weekends are always good. Why don’t you start a blog? I would read it! And comment too 🙂

  6. 12 wendy June 22, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    When Jason’s dad come here, J will take him to freo again. But he said he would bring him in Saturday morning.

    I like the photo you took about the tree with falling leaves. It’s winter.

    • 13 daitaoha June 22, 2009 at 1:43 pm

      Hehe, I guessed it was Din Yaw. Saturday morning is nice, but better go for the ramen earlier around 9am when there’s not so many people.


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


